Skip to Content

Looking for Member-only Content?

opened lockSign in here to update your member information.

Create AAMC Account

1. Click sign in above
2. Enter personal information
3. Answer institutional identification questions
4. Answer AAMC questions

Forgot Login?

1. Click sign-in above
2. Click 'Forgot your password" or "Forgot your username"
3. Enter the email address you used to register

AAMC Mailing Lists

stamp on an envelope

AAMC mailing lists are available for sharing valuable information and resources with our member institutions and constituents.

CGSA Outstanding Service Award


The Central Region Group on Student Affairs (CGSA) presents the CGSA Outstanding Service Award to current or former CGSA members (either institutional or individual) who have demonstrated outstanding service to the CGSA.

Outstanding service is defined as significant and sustained leadership or expertise in addressing issues of importance to the CGSA. Nominees for this award shall have demonstrated service to the CGSA and shall have an outstanding record of accomplishment, resourcefulness and dedication to the mission of the CGSA. Areas of service recognition may be in any of the leadership roles of the CGSA. These may include service as a member or official of the Steering Committee, serving in a special role of the CGSA in any of the five areas of Student Affairs, Diversity Affairs, Financial Assistance, Admissions or Student Records, or service on any CGSA Ad Hoc Committees or Meeting Program Committees. It could also include service in National GSA leadership positions providing that service is in a position of representation of the CGSA.


No more than two CGSA Outstanding Service Awards may be presented annually at the spring meeting of the CGSA.


A call for nominations will be announced annually at the CGSA Business meeting during the AAMC Annual meeting. Any CGSA member may submit a nomination. No self-nominations will be considered. Nominations will be submitted to the CGSA Past Chair and must be accompanied by the nominees' curriculum vitae.

Selection Process

The Past Chair and Nominating Committee of the CGSA shall serve as the Screening Committee and forward the names of no more than four finalists to the CGSA Steering Committee for consideration at their Winter meeting. The Steering Committee will select the award recipients for announcement at the spring meeting. No nominee for the Outstanding Service Award may serve on the Screening Committee, nor be present for discussion and decision by the Steering Committee. If necessary, the Chair will appoint a replacement to the Screening Committee from among the membership of the Steering Committee.

Adopted by the CGSA Steering Committee November 6, 2003.

Previous Award Recipients


Angela Nuzzarelo, MD, MHPE
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine


Gerald Yutrzenka, PhD
University of South Dakota, Sanford School of Medicine


Michael Kavan, PhD
Creighton University School of Medicine


Wanda Lipcomb, PhD
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine


Rachel Brown, MD
University of Missouri School of Medicine


Anita Pokorny, MEd
Northeast Ohio Medical University


Kathleen Kashima, PhD
University of Illinois College of Medicine


Linda Bissell
University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine


Cynthia Boyd, MD, MBA
Rush Medical College of Rush University Medical Center
Judy DeMers, MEd
University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences


Patricia Metting, PhD
University of Toledo College of Medicine


Paul Bunger, PhD
Sanford School of Medicine University of South Dakota
Terri Wronski
Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine


John Molidor, PhD
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
Nancy Calvert
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine


Daniel A. Burr, PhD
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Jean Lantz
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine


Timothy R. Hansen, PhD
Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Sciences
Helene Horwitz, MD
University of Minnesota Medical School


Al Sullivan, MD (posthumously)
University of Minnesota - Twin Cities
Jane R. Thomas, PhD
Wayne State University School of Medicine