New section

Content Background

New section

GSA Steering Committee

New section

New section


The GSA Steering Committee is the executive committee for the Group on Student Affairs and is comprised of the executive leadership, the chairs of the GSA National Committees, the GSA regional chairs, as well as liaisons from the Council of Deans (COD), Organization of Student Representatives (OSR) and National Association of Advisors for the Health Professions (NAAHP). The areas represented by the GSA encompass a wide range of issues, policies, and operational characteristics that require study and deliberation on an ongoing basis. In order to provide a mechanism for the study of issues and problems associated with this full range of complex and diverse issues, the GSA Steering Committee established national committees in the areas of admissions, student affairs, student diversity affairs, student financial assistance, and student records.


Please send any questions, suggestions, or requests for meeting minutes and archived agendas to

Steering Committee Members


Anita Pokorny, MEd (November 2019 – November 2020)
Assistant Dean of Students
Assistant Professor, Family and Community Medicine
College of Medicine
Office of the Dean and Medical Education
Northeast Ohio Medical University


Charles A. Pohl, MD (November 2019 – November 2020)
Vice Provost for Student Affairs
Vice Dean for Student Affairs and Career Counseling
Professor of Pediatrics 
Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University


Kathleen Kashima, PhD (November 2019 – November 2020)
Senior Associate Dean for Students
University of Illinois College of Medicine

Immediate Past Chair

Wanda Dean Lipscomb, PhD (November 2019 –November 2020) 
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Senior Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine

Previous Past Chair

Donna Elliott, MD, MSEd, EdD (November 2019 - November 2020)
Vice Dean for Medical Education and Chair, Department of Medical Education
Professor of Pediatrics and Medical Education
Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California

Committee on Admissions (COA) Chair

Tanisha N. Price-Johnson, PhD (November 2017 – November 2020)
Executive Director of Admissions
Research Assistant Professor, Family and Community Medicine
University of Arizona College of Medicine

Committee on Student Affairs (COSA) Chair

Hilit Mechaber, MD (November 2019 – November 2020)
Associate Dean for Student Services Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Committee on Student Diversity Affairs (COSDA) Chair

Ann-Gel S. Palermo, MPH, DrPH (November 2018 – November 2021)
Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion in Biomedical Education
Associate Professor of Medical Education and Pediatrics
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Committee on Student Financial Assistance (COSFA) Chair

Damien Jackson, MEd (November 2018 – November 2021)
Assistant Dean for Student Finances
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Yeshiva University

Committee on Student Records (COSR) Chair

Teresa Cook, MEd (August 2016 – November 2020)
Director of Student Affairs/Registrar
Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California

Central Region (CGSA) Chair

Terri Blevins, EdD (April 2020 - April 2021)
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
University of Illinois College of Medicine Rockford

Northeastern Region (NEGSA) Chair

Katherine Chretien, MD, FACP (April 2020 - April 2021)
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Professor of Medicine 
George Washington University

Southern Region (SGSA) Chair

Marcia Verduin, MD (April 2020 – April 2021)
Associate Dean, Students, and Professor of Psychiatry
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

Western Region (WGSA) Chair

Teresa A. Vigil, MD  (July 2020 - April 2022)
Professor, Department of Pediatrics 
Assistant Dean of Students, Office of Medical Student Affairs
University of New Mexico School of Medicine

Council of Deans (COD) Liaison

Augustine MK Choi, MD (November 2018 – November 2021)
Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean
Weill Cornell Medicine
Provost for Medical Affairs
Cornell University Weill Cornell Medicine

National Association of Advisors for the Health Professions (NAAHP) Liaison

Francie Cuffney, PhD (June 2020 - June 2022)
President-Elect, NAAHP
Professor of Biological Sciences
Department Head, Biology
Meredith College

Organization of Student Representatives (OSR) Liaison

Alex Lindqwister (November 2018 – November 2020)
MD Candidate
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth

AAMC Staff Liaison

Irena Tartakovsky, MD, MS
Director, Constituent Engagement
Association of American Medical Colleges


New section

New section