Skip to Content

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
David E. Rogers Award

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation David E. Rogers Award is presented annually to a medical school faculty member who has made major contributions to improving the health and health care of the American people. The Award honors David E. Rogers, MD, the first president of the Foundation and an exemplar of academic medicine’s commitment to meeting the health care needs of the nation. Throughout his life, Dr. Rogers was a dynamic influence in stimulating programs in medical education and medical care delivery, especially in areas of significant social interest.

The awardee receives the Rogers Award and a prize of $10,000. The award has been jointly sponsored by the AAMC and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation since 1995. In 2018, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation established the David E. Rogers Award Endowment at the AAMC to support the annual presentation of this award in perpetuity to an academic faculty member who exemplifies Dr. Rogers’ commitment to improving health and health care.

Selection Criteria

Individuals who have made significant contributions in improving health and health care are eligible for the award. An individual’s tenure is not a criterion for this award, but the nominee must have a faculty appointment at an AAMC-member medical school. Nominees will be evaluated on demonstrated evidence that an individual’s contributions have:

  • Improved the health of society;
  • Shaped public policy; and
  • Helped redirect the medical profession and/or academic medical centers to experiment with a variety of educational and delivery modes to achieve important societal objectives.

Guidelines for Entry

Nominations may be made by any faculty or staff member of an AAMC-member medical school, teaching hospital, or academic society. 

Nominations must be received by January 25, 2019, via the electronic entry form. Information on the fields required for nomination here .

The Rogers Award Review Committee will review nominations and invite selected nominators to submit additional support materials, including:

  • One two-page letter of support of the nominee authored by an AAMC-member institution’s dean, chief executive officer, or president on institutional letterhead addressed to the Rogers Award Review Committee; and
  • Three additional two-page letters of support attesting to the nominee’s qualifications for the Rogers Award.

Selected nominators will be notified by February 28, 2019, if they are invited to submit additional materials. There is no need to compile these resources before you are notified on February 28. Additional support materials must be submitted by April 5, 2019, via email to Sandra Gordon at

The winner of the award will be notified by July 31, 2019, and honored at Learn Serve Lead 2019 in Phoenix.

Please address all questions to:

Sandra Gordon
Association of American Medical Colleges
655 K Street, NW, Suite 100
Washington, DC 20001-2339