aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    2022 AAMC Award Recipients

    The AAMC is pleased to announce the 2022 recipients of the association’s annual awards, which honor individuals and institutions making significant contributions to medical education, research, clinical care, and community engagement.

    Do you know someone who exemplifies the best of academic medicine? Nominations for the 2023 AAMC Awards are now open! Visit aamc.org/awards to learn more about the criteria and to submit a nomination.

    Lucinda L. Maine, PhD, RPh

    2022 Special Recognition Award

    Throughout her career as a pharmacist and educator, Dr. Maine’s passion for pharmacy fueled a desire to make the profession welcoming to students and to push them to succeed in the increasingly interdisciplinary environment of modern medicine.

    Learn more about Dr. Maine

    Anthony “Tony” Mazzaschi

    2022 Special Recognition Award

    Until his retirement in December 2021, Mr. Mazzaschi had a long and distinguished career advancing and communicating public policy issues affecting academic medicine.

    Learn more about Mr. Mazzaschi

    Bonita “Bonnie” Stanton, MD

    2022 Special Recognition Award (Posthumous)

    Dr. Stanton was a pediatrician and founding dean of the Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine (Hackensack Meridian SOM) in New Jersey. Dr. Stanton spent significant time establishing the medical school, securing accreditation from five institutions and establishing Hackensack Meridian SOM as an independent institution of higher education.

    Learn more about Dr. Stanton

    Yvonne Steinert, PhD

    2022 Excellence in Medical Education Award

    A psychologist by training, Dr. Steinert, professor in the Department of Family Medicine and Institute of Health Sciences Education at McGill Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences in Canada, has brought a unique international perspective to medical education.

    Learn more about Dr. Steinert

    Guillermina “Gigi” Lozano, PhD

    2022 Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences

    Over the course of her highly distinguished research career, Dr. Lozano, professor and chair of the Department of Genetics at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, has made numerous groundbreaking contributions to the field of cancer research.

    Learn more about Dr. Lozano

    Flaura K. Winston, MD, PhD

    2022 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation David E. Rogers Award

    Dr. Winston is an internationally recognized injury scientist, inventor, innovator, engineer, and behavioral scientist whose research and public policy recommendations have advanced regulations, laws, programs, and products that have saved thousands of lives. Dr. Winston is the distinguished chair in the Department of Pediatrics at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) and a tenured professor of pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

    Learn more about Dr. Winston

    Thomas A. LaVeist, PhD

    2022 Herbert W. Nickens Award

    As dean and Weatherhead Presidential Chair in Health Equity at the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine at Tulane University, Dr. LaVeist has devoted his extraordinary 30-year career to dismantling racism, promoting social justice, and fighting for equity in health care.

    Learn more about Dr. LaVeist

    Maura George, MD

    2022 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

    The practice of medicine and the training of future physicians are fundamentally humanistic pursuits and Dr. George, associate professor of medicine at Emory University School of Medicine, excels at both.

    Learn more about Dr. George

    The Ohio State University College of Medicine and Wexner Medical Center

    2022 Spencer Foreman Award for Outstanding Community Engagement

    Located in the state’s capital, The Ohio State University College of Medicine (Ohio State) and Wexner Medical Center share a deep commitment to and rich history of partnering with the community to improve people’s lives through innovation in research, education, increased access to clinical care, and community engagement.

    Learn more about The Ohio State University College of Medicine and Wexner Health Center

    Rachel Marie E. Salas, MD

    2022 Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

    Increasingly, science has determined that sleep is vital to all human activities, and Dr. Salas, sleep specialist and professor of neurology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, has been instrumental in ensuring that medical students are well-versed in the science of sleep medicine.

    Learn more about Dr. Salas

    Richard A. Hoppmann, MD

    2022 Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

    As the founder and past director of the Ultrasound Institute at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine Columbia, Dr. Hoppmann has introduced countless medical students to the power of ultrasound to peer inside the human body.

    Learn more about Dr. Hoppmann

    Rajesh S. Mangrulkar, MD

    2022 Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

    As director of the Michigan Center for Interprofessional Education at the University of Michigan (U-M) Medical School, Dr. Mangrulkar has had an enormous impact on medical education, not just for medical students but for all students in the 10 health professions schools across U-M’s three campuses.

    Learn more about Dr. Mangrulkar

    Kristina H. Petersen, PhD

    2022 Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

    For Dr. Petersen, assistant dean of academic support programs at New York Medical College (NYMC), the key to excellence in academic medicine is ensuring equal access for all learners.

    Learn more about Dr. Petersen