Skip to Content

Filter by:

Washington Highlights

NIH Announces New Round of CTSA Awards

October 25, 2013—The National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Oct. 22 announced the recipients of the Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA).   Fifteen new awards were made, with a total of $79 million in funding from fiscal year 2013.  The lead institutions receiving five-year awards include:

  • Albert Einstein College of Medicine
  • Dartmouth College

  • Duke University

  • Harvard Medical School

  • Indiana University

  • Johns Hopkins University

  • Ohio State University

  • Scripps Research Institute

  • Stanford University

  • Tufts University

  • University of Colorado

  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

  • University of Texas Health Science Center

  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center-Dallas

  • University of Utah

All but one, Dartmouth, represent renewals or continuations of CTSAs that were awarded previously.

The CTSAs represent a consortium of 61 research institutions across the country that are focused on strengthening translational research.    NCATS also noted that, under its leadership, “the CTSA program is focused on solving roadblocks common to clinical translational efforts for all diseases,” consistent with NCATS’ mission.

Stephen Heinig
Director, Science Policy
Telephone: 202-828-0488

Irena Tartakovsky, M.D.
Director, Constituent Engagement
Telephone: 202-862-6134


envelope on a green background

Subscribe to Washington Highlights

RSS icon

Subscribe to RSS

Washington Highlights, a weekly electronic newsletter, features brief updates on the latest legislative and regulatory activities affecting medical schools and teaching hospitals.

Past Issues

For More Information

Jason Kleinman
Sr. Legislative Analyst, Govt. Relations
Telephone: 202-903-0806