Skip to Content

Filter by:

Washington Highlights

IOM Names Committee Members for GME Governance and Financing Study

August 3, 2012—The Institute of Medicine (IOM) July 31 announced the provisional appointment of the members of the committee for a study titled Governance and Financing of Graduate Medical Education. The committee, which will hold its first meeting Sept. 4-5, will “assess current regulation, financing, content, governance, and organization of U.S. graduate medical education (GME) and recommend how to modify GME to produce a physician workforce for a 21st century U.S. health care system that provides high quality preventive, acute, and chronic care, and meets the needs of an aging and more diverse population.”

The committee will review, among other topics: the numbers of residents, GME slots, and balance of primary care providers, specialists, and subspecialists; training sites; financing options; the accreditation process; relevant provisions of Titles III, VII, and VIII of the Public Health Services Act; and relationships among safety net providers, community health/teaching health centers, and academic centers.

The study was developed as a result of the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation and the Association of Academic Health Centers calling for an independent external review of the governance and financing of GME, specifically suggesting that the IOM perform the review. 

The committee is co-chaired by Donald M. Berwick, M.D., M.P.P., FRCP, former administrator of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), and Gail R. Wilensky, Ph.D., senior fellow, Project HOPE, and former administrator of the Health Care Financing Administration (now CMS) from 1990-92 and Deputy Assistant for Policy Development to President George H. W. Bush in 1992.

The members of the committee are:

  • Brian Alexander, M.D., M.P.H., director, Department of Neuro-radiation Oncology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Center;

  • David A. Asch, M.D., M.B.A., executive director, Penn Medicine Center for Innovation, University of Pennsylvania & Philadelphia VA Medical Center;

  • David Asprey, Ph.D., PA-C, professor and chair, Department of Physician Assistant Studies, assistant dean, Office of Student Affairs and Curriculum, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, member of the AAMC Group on Educational Affairs (GEA);

  • Alfred Berg, M.D., M.P.H., professor, Department of Family Medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine;

  • Peter I. Buerhaus, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, Valere Potter Distinguished Professor of Nursing, director, Center for Interdisciplinary Health Workforce Studies, Institute for Medicine and Public Health, Vanderbilt University Medical Center;

  • Amitabh Chandra, Ph.D., director of health policy research, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University;

  • Denice Cora-Bramble, M.D., M.B.A., FAAP, acting executive vice president, Ambulatory Services, senior vice president, Diana L. and Stephen A. Goldberg Center for Community Pediatric Health, Children’s National Medical Center, member of the AAMC Group on Faculty Affairs (GFA);

  • Michael J. Dowling, M.S.W., president and CEO, North Shore-Long Island Jewish Health System;

  • Kathleen A. Dracup, D.N.Sc., R.N., FNP, FAAN, dean emeritus, University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing;

  • Anthony E. Keck, M.P.H., director, South Carolina Department of Health and Human Services;

  • Octavio N. Martinez, Jr., M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., executive director, Hogg Foundation for Mental Health;

  • Fitzhugh Mullan, M.D., Murdock Head Professor of Medicine and Health Policy, Department of Health Policy, The George Washington University;

  • Roger Plummer, B.S., president, Plummer Consulting;

  • Deborah E. Powell, M.D., dean emeritus and professor of laboratory medicine and pathology, University of Minnesota Medical School, former chair of the AAMC Board of Directors;

  • Barbara Ross-Lee, D.O., M.A.T., FACOFP, vice president for health sciences and medical affairs, New York Institute of Technology;

  • Glenn D. Steele, Jr., M.D., Ph.D., president and CEO, Geisinger Health System;

  • Gail L. Warden, M.A. president emeritus, Henry Ford Health System, former member of the AAMC Council of Teaching Hospitals (COTH) Administrative Board;

  • Debra Weinstein, M.D., vice president for GME, Partners Health System, Inc, former member of the AAMC Group on Resident Affairs (GRA) Steering Committee; and

  • Barbara O. Wynn, M.A., senior policy analyst, The RAND Corporation.


Len Marquez
Director, Government Relations
Telephone: 202-862-6281


envelope on a green background

Subscribe to Washington Highlights

RSS icon

Subscribe to RSS

Washington Highlights, a weekly electronic newsletter, features brief updates on the latest legislative and regulatory activities affecting medical schools and teaching hospitals.

Past Issues

For More Information

Jason Kleinman
Sr. Legislative Analyst, Govt. Relations
Telephone: 202-903-0806