Skip to Content

Filter by:

Washington Highlights

Five New Commissioners Appointed To MedPAC, Two From AAMC- Member Institutions

May 25, 2012—U.S. Comptroller General Gene L. Dodaro May 24 announced the appointment of five new commissioners and the reappointment of one current commissioner to the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC).  Two of the five new commissioners, David Nerenz, Ph.D., Henry Ford Health System, and Rita Redberg, M.D., University of California at San Francisco Medical Center, are from AAMC-member institutions.

The newly appointed commissioners are: Alice Coombs, M.D., critical care specialist and anesthesiologist, South Shore Hospital, Weymouth, Mass.; Jack Hoadley, Ph.D., research professor, Health Policy Institute, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.; David Nerenz, Ph.D., director of the Center for Health Policy and Health Services Research, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit; Rita Redberg, M.D., professor, Clinical Medicine, University of California at San Francisco Medical Center; and Craig Samitt, M.D., president and chief executive officer, Dean Health System, Inc., Madison, Wis. Their terms will expire in April 2015.  MedPAC Chair Glenn Hackbarth, J.D., was reappointed to the commission through April 2015.

The outgoing commissioners are: MedPAC Vice Chair Robert Berenson, M.D., F.A.C.P.; Mitra Behroozi, J.D.; Karen R. Borman, M.D., F.A.C.S.; Ronald D. Castellanos, M.D.; and Bruce Stuart, Ph.D.


Jane Eilbacher
Policy and Regulatory Specialist
Telephone: 202-828-0896


envelope on a green background

Subscribe to Washington Highlights

RSS icon

Subscribe to RSS

Washington Highlights, a weekly electronic newsletter, features brief updates on the latest legislative and regulatory activities affecting medical schools and teaching hospitals.

Past Issues

For More Information

Jason Kleinman
Sr. Legislative Analyst, Govt. Relations
Telephone: 202-903-0806