aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    GIA Awards for Excellence

    Images of GIA Gold Awards winners

    The GIA Awards for Excellence Competition is an annual, peer-reviewed competition that recognizes outstanding work by members of the Group on Institutional Advancement (GIA) and their staff. The awards honor the most creative and effective approaches used to promote academic medicine through alumni relations, communications, development, marketing, and public affairs/community relations programs and projects.

    The 2024 GIA Awards for Excellence Competition is now closed. Please reach out to gia@aamc.org with any questions.

    Interested in Submitting Your Work?

    We want to recognize the outstanding work you’ve produced to help advance your institution to greatness. You’ve been responding to challenging times and, at the same time, creating innovative campaigns, writing articles, organizing alumni and community events, revamping your digital presence, and, most important, demonstrating the value of your institution to your community. Now is the time to show off your work and be recognized!

    2024 GIA Awards for Excellence Winners

    Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Initiatives

    Electronic Communications

    Audio and Video

    Social Media


    Print and Digital Publishing

    Single or Special Issues

    External Audience

    Special Events, Projects, Programs, or Campaigns

    The Robert G. Fenley Writing Awards

    Basic Science Staff Writing

    General Staff Writing

    Solicited Articles

    News Releases

    The “Shoestring” Award

    2024 Honorable Mention Winners

    2024 GIA Awards for Excellence Judges

    Past GIA Awards for Excellence Winners