aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    SGEA Career Educator Award

    This award recognizes one individual from the southern region annually. Criteria for the Career Educator Award include:

    • Active SGEA participant in the organization and annual regional meeting for at least six of the past ten consecutive years
    • Evidence of a sustained and compelling record of educational scholarship for at least the past five years
    • Evidence of ongoing educational leadership and significant involvement in enhancing educational programs at his/her academic institution
    • Evidence of collaboration with others at his/her academic institution and beyond to enhance teaching effectiveness, the quality of educational programs, professionals development of self and others and/or the advancement of educational scholarship
    • Evidence of strong professionalism values

    2019 Award Winner

    Ruth E. Levine, MD
    University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston

    Past Awardees

    Amy V. Blue, PhD
    University of Florida
    Gary C. Rosenfeld, PhD
    University of Texas Houston McGovern School of Medicine
    Carol L. Elam, PhD
    University of Kentucky College of Medicine

    Bonnie Miller, MD
    Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

    Ann Frye, M.Ed, Ph.D.
    University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine

    Karen Szauter, M.D.
    University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine

    Ruth Greenberg, Ph.D.
    University of Louisville School of Medicine

    Jamie Shumway, Ph.D.
    West Virginia University School of Medicine

    Kevin Krane, M.D.
    Tulane University School of Medicine

    Robert T. Watson, M.D.
    Florida State University School of Medicine

    Sheila Chauvin, Ph.D.
    Louisiana State University Health Science Center - New Orleans

    Ruth Marie Fincher, M.D.
    Medical College of Georgia