Skip to Content

Looking for Member-only Content?

opened lockSign in here to update your member information.

Create AAMC Account

1. Click sign in above
2. Enter personal information
3. Answer institutional identification questions
4. Answer AAMC questions

Forgot Login?

1. Click sign-in above
2. Click 'Forgot your password" or "Forgot your username"
3. Enter the email address you used to register

AAMC Mailing Lists

stamp on an envelope

AAMC mailing lists are available for sharing valuable information and resources with our member institutions and constituents.

SGEA Career Educator Award

This award recognizes one individual from the southern region annually. Criteria for the Career Educator Award include:

  • Active SGEA participant in the organization and annual regional meeting for at least six of the past ten consecutive years
  • Evidence of a sustained and compelling record of educational scholarship for at least the past five years
  • Evidence of ongoing educational leadership and significant involvement in enhancing educational programs at his/her academic institution
  • Evidence of collaboration with others at his/her academic institution and beyond to enhance teaching effectiveness, the quality of educational programs, professionals development of self and others and/or the advancement of educational scholarship
  • Evidence of strong professionalism values

2017 Award Winner
Gary C. Rosenfeld, Phd
UT Houston McGovern School of Medicine

Past Awardees

Carol L. Elam, PhD
University of Kentucky College of Medicine

Bonnie Miller, MD
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Ann Frye, M.Ed, Ph.D.
University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine

Karen Szauter, M.D.
University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine

Ruth Greenberg, Ph.D.
University of Louisville School of Medicine

Jamie Shumway, Ph.D.
West Virginia University School of Medicine

Kevin Krane, M.D.
Tulane University School of Medicine

Robert T. Watson, M.D.
Florida State University School of Medicine

Sheila Chauvin, Ph.D.
Louisiana State University Health Science Center - New Orleans

Ruth Marie Fincher, M.D.
Medical College of Georgia


About the SGEA

Contact SGEA

SGEA Chair
Nicole Borges, PhD
Professor, Neurobiology and Anatomical Sciences
University of Mississippi Medical Center

AAMC Staff
Steve McKenzie
Director, Constituent Engagement

Sarah Brown
Constituent Engagement Specialist

Other GEA Regions