aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    Research in Medical Education (RIME) Awards

    Purpose: Each year, the Research in Medical Education (RIME) Program Planning Committee reviews the papers submitted through the open call for submissions and selects papers for four RIME awards.

    2023 Award Winners

    Trainee Award

    Sandra Perez, MD; Alan Schwartz, PhD; Karen E. Hauer, MD, PhD ; Reena Karani, MD ; Laura E. Hirshfield, PhD ; Meg McNamara, MD ; Duncan Henry, MD ; Katherine L. Lupton, MD; Majka Woods, PhD; Arianne Teherani, PhD; for their paper, “Developing Evidence for a Model of Equity in Clinical Training using Discrete Choice Experiments"

    New Investigator Award

    Daniela Maristany, MD ; Karen E. Hauer, MD, PhD ; Andrea N. Leep Hunderfund, MD, MHPE; Martha L. Elks, MD, PhD; Justin L. Bullock, MD, MPH ; Ashok Kumbamu, PhD; Bridget C. O'Brien, PhD; for their paper, “The Problem and Power of Professionalism: A Critical Analysis of Medical Students’ and Residents’ Perspectives and Experiences of Professionalism". 

    Underrepresented in Medicine (URiM) Research Award

    April Edwell, MD, MAEd; Sandrijn Van Schaik, MD, PhD; Arianne Teherani, PhD; for their paper, “URM: Under-represented or Under-recognized? A Case Study of Black Pediatric Critical Care Physicians"

    Outstanding Research Award

    Rabia Khan, PhD, MSc, MA; Brian D. Hodges, MD, PhD, FRCPC; Maria A. Martimianakis, PhD, MA; for their paper, "Constructing ‘Burnout’: A Critical Discourse Analysis of ‘Burnout’ in Post Graduate Medical Education"