Skip to Content

Filter by:

Washington Highlights

On the Hill

December 21, 2012—Governor Nicki Haley (R-S.C.) Dec. 17 appointed Rep. Tim Scott (R-S.C.) to succeed Sen. Jim DeMint (R-S.C.) to serve as the junior senator from South Carolina until a special election in 2014. The winner of the special election will serve out the remainder of Sen. DeMint’s term through 2016.

Senator Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) Dec. 18 was sworn in by Vice President Joe Biden as president pro tempore of the Senate following the death of Sen. Daniel Inouye on Dec. 17. President pro tempore is third in line to the presidency.

Sen. Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.) is set to take over as chair of the Senate Committee on Appropriations. This seat was vacated due to the passing of Sen. Inouye. Sen. Leahy was next in line, but turned it down to remain chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee. Then Sen. Harkin, next in seniority, chose to remain chair of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee.

President Barack Obama is expected to nominate Sen. John Kerry (D-Mass.) for Secretary of State, succeeding Hillary Clinton as soon as he is confirmed by the Senate

envelope on a green background

Subscribe to Washington Highlights

RSS icon

Subscribe to RSS

Washington Highlights, a weekly electronic newsletter, features brief updates on the latest legislative and regulatory activities affecting medical schools and teaching hospitals.

Past Issues

For More Information

Jason Kleinman
Sr. Legislative Analyst, Govt. Relations
Telephone: 202-903-0806