aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    Guidelines for the GFA Carole J. Bland Phronesis Award

    Nominees for the annual Carole J. Bland Phronesis Award should be individuals with at least five years of history contributing to the field of faculty affairs or faculty development in academic medicine. The GFA Steering Committee will look for evidence of a nominee's excellence as:

    • an innovator,
    • a nurturer/mentor,
    • a leader, and
    • an educator/academician with regional and/or national impact in the areas of faculty affairs and faculty development.


    Online submissions will be reviewed and discussed by the GFA Steering Committee. Upon the GFA Steering Committee selecting a recipient, the Chair will notify the recipient. The award is presented at the annual GFA Professional Development Conference.


    Nominations may be made by any member of the GFA, any medical school Dean or Council of Teaching Hospitals executive, or any member of the AAMC leadership (including the chairs or steering committee members of other AAMC Groups or Councils).

    The complete nomination package must include the following items:

    • Letter of nomination giving the rationale and justification for the nomination. Address each of the areas (innovator, nurturer/mentor, leader, and educator/academician) in a brief narrative (three double spaced pages maximum)
    • Nominee’s narrative bio sketch (500 words maximum)
    • Current curriculum vitae (CV) or resume
    • Color headshot
    • Complete online nomination form by the nominator

    The GFA Steering Committee will not review additional materials. Incomplete or late nominations will not be accepted. An acknowledgement receipt for the nomination will be sent to the submitter.


    • February 2024: Call for nominations announced
    • March 2024: Award nominations deadline
    • April 2024: Award recipient selected and notified
    • July 2024: GFA Carole J. Bland Phronesis Award recipient announced and award presented 

    Award Presentation

    The award presentation will be made at the 2024 GFA Professional Development Conference, July 15-18, 2024. The award recipient will be invited to present remarks on July 16, 2024.

    Past Honorees

    2023 Honoree

    Susan Pollart, MD, MS
    Ruth E. Murdaugh Professor of Family Medicine
    Senior Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development
    University of Virginia School of Medicine

    2022 Honoree

    Kathleen G. Nelson, MD
    Clinical Professor of Pediatrics
    Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California

    2021 Honoree

    Patrick O. Smith, PhD, ABPP
    Chief Faculty Affairs Officer
    Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
    Professor, Family Medicine
    University of Mississippi School of Medicine

    2020 Honoree

    Archana Chatterjee, MD, PhD
    Dean, Chicago Medical School 
    Vice President for Medical Affairs, Rosalind Franklin University

    2019 Honoree

    Ann J. Brown, MD, MHS
    Vice Dean for Faculty
    Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
    Duke University School of Medicine

    2018 Honoree

    Karen D. Novielli, MD
    Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs, Thomas Jefferson University
    Vice Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development, Sidney Kimmel Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University

    2017 Honoree

    Henry W. Strobel, PhD
    Professor Emeritus
    The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

    2016 Honoree

    Luanne Thorndyke, MD, FACP
    Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
    Professor of Medicine
    University of Massachusetts Medical School

    2015 Honoree

    Jeannette M. Shorey II, MD
    Associate Dean for CME and Faculty Affairs
    UAMS College of Medicine

    2014 Honoree

    Valerie Williams, PhD
    Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Faculty Development
    University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

    2013 Honoree

    Laura F. Schweitzer, PhD
    Union Graduate College

    2012 Honoree

    Stephen P. Bogdewic, PhD
    Dr. George W. Copeland Professor of Family Medicine
    Executive Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development
    Indiana University School of Medicine

    2011 Honoree

    Thomas R. Viggiano, MD
    Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
    Mayo Medical School