aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    2023 AAMC Award Recipients

    The AAMC is pleased to announce the 2023 recipients of the association’s annual awards, which honor individuals and institutions making significant contributions to medical education, research, clinical care, and community engagement.

    Do you know someone who exemplifies the best of academic medicine? Nominations for the 2024 AAMC Awards are now open! Visit aamc.org/awards to learn more about the criteria and to submit a nomination.

    Adina Kalet, MD, MPH, FACP, FAACH

    2023 Award for Excellence in Medical Education

    Throughout her 30-year career as a leader, mentor, and educator in academic medicine, Adina L. Kalet, MD, has been an advocate for helping clinicians develop their communication skills and has authored more than 200 papers and three books underscoring her mission to help medical students better connect with their patients.

    Learn more about Dr. Kalet

    James Crowe Jr., MD

    2023 Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences

    James Earl Crowe Jr., MD, a professor of pathology, microbiology, and immunology at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, has developed antibody treatments for a broad range of pathogens, including avian and swine influenza strains, Ebola, smallpox, mpox, dengue, and, most recently, the SARS-CoV-2 virus that led to the global COVID-19 pandemic.

    Learn more about Dr. Crowe

    Jaclyn Nunziato, MD, MS

    2023 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

    Jaclyn D. Nunziato, MD, MS, associate professor in OB-GYN at Virginia Tech-Carilion (VTC) School of Medicine, has been influential in designing curriculum in health systems science and has mentored countless students in obstetrics and gynecology.

    Learn more about Dr. Nunziato

    Selwyn Rogers, Jr., MD, MPH, FACS

    2023 Louis W. Sullivan, MD, Award

    Selwyn O. Rogers, Jr., MD, MPH, FACS, professor and chief of trauma and acute care surgery, and founding director of the University of Chicago Medicine Trauma Center, established the first trauma center operation on the South Side of Chicago and remains committed to ensuring the workforce reflects the community.

    Learn more about Dr. Rogers

    University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine (UMKC)

    2023 AAMC Spencer Foreman Award for Outstanding Community Engagement

    The University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine (UMKC) remains dedicated to improving the health and well-being of individuals and populations across all aspects of its mission.

    Learn more about UMKC

    Neil Powe, MD, MPH, MBA

    2023 Herbert W. Nickens Award

    Neil Richard Powe, MD, MPH, MBA, chief of medicine at the Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center (ZSFG), and vice chair of medicine and Constance B. Wofsy Distinguished Professor at the University of California, San Francisco, (UCSF) School of Medicine, is a leader in the field of health equity, serving as a voice for social justice in the practice of medicine and education of clinicians.

    Learn more about Dr. Powe

    Denise Jamieson, MD, MPH

    2023 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation David E. Rogers Award

    Denise Jamieson, MD, MPH, vice president for medical affairs and dean at the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, is an internationally recognized public health leader dedicated to advancing women’s health.

    Learn more about Dr. Jamieson

    Lisa Bellini, MD

    2023 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

    During her three decades at Perelman School of Medicine (PSOM) at the University of Pennsylvania, Lisa M. Bellini, MD, has influenced all medical student programs at PSOM through her leadership, including raising the quality of the core clerkship and sub-internships such that they are among the highest-rated courses in the school.

    Learn more about Dr. Bellini

    Neil Osheroff, PhD

    2023 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

    As a professor of biochemistry and medicine at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine (VUSM) for more than 40 years, Neil Osheroff, PhD, has led the Master Science Teachers (MST) cohort, a role established in 2007 to recognize VUSM’s outstanding basic science educators.

    Learn more about Dr. Osheroff

    Dimitrios Papanagnou, MD, MPH

    2023 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

    As an emergency medicine physician, Dimitrios Papanagnou, MD, MPH, sees up close the influence of the social determinants of health on those seeking urgent and emergent medical care and allows this insight to inform his work as a clinician and educator to help students better serve their diverse patients.

    Learn more about Dr. Papanagnou

    Karen Szauter, MD, MACP

    2023 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

    Karen Szauter, MD, MACP, assistant dean of educational affairs at the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB) John Sealy School of Medicine, has emphasized creative teaching and assessment approaches to clinical training, mentoring up to 20 students per year on abstract writing and poster preparation.

    Learn more about Dr. Szauter

    Elisa Hurley, PhD

    2023 Special Recognition Award

    Elisa A. Hurley, PhD, former executive director of PRIM&R (Public Responsibility in Medicine and Research), guided the organization and an engaged research community of over 25,000 individuals through the COVID-19 pandemic.

    Learn more about Dr. Hurley

    Geneviève Moineau, BSc, MD, FRCPC, ICD.D

    2023 Special Recognition Award

    Geneviève Moineau, BSc, MD, FRCPC, former president and CEO of the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC), an internationally recognized expert on accreditation in medical education, has played a crucial role in responding to health workforce challenges.

    Learn more about Dr. Moineau