New section

Content Background

New section

MESRE-RIME Program Planning Committee

New section

New section

The Research in Medical Education (RIME) Program Planning Committee is responsible for the planning, implementation, and evaluation of the RIME component of the AAMC Medical Education Meeting. The committee members, with the guidance and support of the AAMC Staff, have several responsibilities, including:

  • Planning the structure of the RIME components of the AAMC Medical Education Meeting;
  • Coordinating the RIME Call for Submissions with the AAMC Medical Education Meeting Planning Committee;
  • Issuing the RIME Call for Research Papers, Review Papers, and Research Abstracts;
  • Reviewing the submissions for Research Papers, Review Papers, and Research Abstracts;
  • Collating the external reviews of research papers, review papers and abstracts to select papers and abstracts for presentation at the AAMC Medical Education Meeting
  • Providing constructive feedback to authors who responded to the RIME Call for Submissions;
  • Identifying areas of research methods and skills that would benefit the broader community of educators.
  • Communicating and aligning efforts to advance educational research with the MESRE committee/GEA steering committee

The major responsibility of RIME Program Planning Committee members is the review and selection of papers and research abstracts submitted for the RIME conference at the AAMC Medical Education Meeting. The review includes compiling detailed constructive feedback for all papers and research abstracts submitted. The committee members begin the review process in the winter and final selection decisions are made at the committee meeting in the spring. The RIME committee meets twice a year, in or around the AAMC Medical Education Meeting and in the spring.

The term of a RIME Program Planning Committee member is three years, with the exception of the committee Chair. Each year the current year’s committee “Chair” is requested to serve an additional year in the role of “Past Chair”. RIME Program Planning Committee members are nominated by their peers and elected through a national process in which all members of the Medical Education Scholarship Research and Evaluation (MESRE) Section are able to vote. Each year the ballot consists of a candidate with a MD/DO degree and a candidate with a PhD/EdD degree. Additionally, the nominating committee may consider specific areas of expertise in the identification of candidates.

2019-2020 RIME Program Planning Committee

Yoon Soo Park, PhD (2020)
Assistant Professor
Department of Medical Education
College of Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago 

Bridget C. O'Brien, PhD (2019)
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
Education Scientist, Center for Faculty Educators 

Douglas Larsen, MD, MEd (2020)
Associate Professor, Neurology and Pediatrics
Washington University, School of Medicine

Zareen Zaidi, MD, PhD (2020)
Associate Professor of Medicine 
Department of Medicine
University of Florida, College of Medicine

Meredith Young, PhD (2021)
Associate Professor, Centre for Medical Education
McGill University

Dorene F. Balmer, PhD (2021)
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Kori LaDonna, PhD (2021)
Assistant Professor, Department of Innovation in Medical Education
University of Ottawa 

Andrea N. Leep Hunderfund, MD, MHPE (2022)
Assistant Professor of Neurology
Mayo Clinic

Justin L. Sewell, MD, PhD, MPH, FACP (2022)
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
University of California San Francisco

Daniel J. Schumacher, MD, MEd (2022)
Chair, Education Research Group
Associate Professor, UC Department of Pediatrics
Cincinnati Children's Hospital

AAMC Staff

Nesha Brown
Senior Program Specialist, Educational Affairs

New section

New section