aamc.org does not support this web browser. Learn more about the browsers we support.

New section

Content Background

New section

New section

New section

National Officers 2020-2021

Officers are elected in the spring, typically at the annual AAMC Conference for Institutional Advancement business meeting and serve until the end of the next spring conference.


Lisa Worley
Associate Vice President, Medical Communications and Media Relations
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine 
UHealth, the University of Miami Health System


Charles “Chip” Roberts
Assistant Vice President for Development
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

Vice Chair, Alumni Relations, and Development

Lisa Aaronson
Associate Vice President, Multimedia and Brand Management 
Rush University Medical Center

Vice Chair, Communications, Marketing, and Public Affairs

Vincent A. Rhodes, PhD, APR
Assistant Vice President Marketing & Communications  
Eastern Virginia Medical School

Immediate Past Chair

Karen Peterson
Assistant Dean for Alumni & External Relations 
Director, Wisconsin Medical Alumni Association
University of Wisconsin – Madison’s School of Medicine and Public Health

2020-2021 Awards for Excellence Chair

The Awards for Excellence (AFE) Chair is an annually appointed position and oversees the GIA AFE Program.

Awards Chair

Allison Otu
Executive Director, Corporate & Community Relations
University of Arizona College Health Sciences College of Medicine – Phoenix

2020-2021 Discipline Chairs

Four Discipline Chairs are appointed annually and represent the five GIA disciplines:

Alumni Relations Chair

Amanda J. Bassett
Director of Alumni Relations 
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth College
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

Communications and Public Affairs Chair

Claire Bassett
Chief Communications Officer 
Baylor College of Medicine

Development Chair

Sharon White 
Director, Leadership Annual Giving 
Duke Health Development and Alumni Affairs 

Marketing Chair

Michael Buller
Senior Director, Content & Creative Services
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

2020-2021 Discipline Representatives

Six Discipline Representatives are appointed annually and represent the five GIA disciplines:

Alumni Relations Representative

Sarah Rothschild
Director of Constituent Relations
UVA Medical Alumni Association and UVA Medical School Foundation

Communications Representative

Geri A. Kelley
Communications Director
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine

Development Representatives

Heather Renshaw Vučetin
Vice President, Development 
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Angela Wimmer
Vice Chancellor of Institutional Advancement
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Medicine

Marketing Representative

Cynthia Floyd Manley
Interim Director, Digital Engagement
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Public Affairs Representative

Megan Manlove
Director of Content and Communications
Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine

Discipline Advisory Groups

New section

New section