Skip to Content

Looking for Member-only Content?

opened lockSign in here to update your member information.

Create AAMC Account

1. Click sign in above
2. Enter personal information
3. Answer institutional identification questions
4. Answer AAMC questions

Forgot Login?

1. Click sign-in above
2. Click 'Forgot your password" or "Forgot your username"
3. Enter the email address you used to register

AAMC Mailing Lists

stamp on an envelope

AAMC mailing lists are available for sharing valuable information and resources with our member institutions and constituents.

2017 GWIMS Leadership Award

About the Award

The Group on Women in Medicine and Science Leadership Awards recognize outstanding individual and organizational contributions to advancing women leaders in academic medicine and science. Since the first award in 1995, these prestigious awards have recognized over 30 individuals and organizations. The GWIMS awards may not always be given every year.

The GWIMS Steering Committee strongly encourages nominations of leaders and programs of significant impact. Any member of the academic medicine community may nominate individuals and/or organizations for the award. Nominees that were submitted but not awarded from previous years remain eligible (though previous nominees are not automatically reconsidered each year).

Nominees for the GWIMS Leadership Award should be individuals (women or men) or institutions (e.g. medical schools, teaching hospitals, academic societies, associations, departments, committees, or Women in Medicine and Science programs) that advance the role of women in academic medicine and science. The committee will consider the extent of the nominee’s impact at a local, regional, and national level.

The GWIMS Steering Committee will review all nomination materials. Candidates who have previously won the award are not eligible for re-nomination unless at least 10 years have elapsed since the original award and there are clear accomplishments since the prior award.

2017 GWIMS Leadership Award Honorees

Individual Award
Driscoll 100x150We are pleased to announce that Deborah A. Driscoll, MD, Luigi Mastroianni, Jr., Professor and Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Director of the Center for Research on Reproduction and Women’s Health at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, is the 2017 recipient of the Group on Women in Medicine and Science Individual Award. A graduate of Smith College and New York University School of Medicine, she completed a residency in Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania and a fellowship in Clinical and Molecular Genetics at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Driscoll is internationally recognized for her research on DiGeorge/velocardiofacial syndrome and the 22q11.2 deletion syndrome. Dr. Driscoll is the principle investigator of Penn’s Women’s Reproductive Health Research (WRHR) career development program. In 2014 she was awarded a $10M grant from the March of Dimes to establish one of five transdisciplinary Prematurity Research Centers in the country. Dr. Driscoll was elected to the Institute of Medicine in 2010 and an honorary fellow of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists in 2016.

Dr. Driscoll is considered one of the world’s leading obstetrician-geneticists who has also been recognized for her expertise in genetic screening and the care of women with genetic disorders. At Penn she has been the recipient of several teaching awards including a Lindback award for Distinguished Teaching. Dr. Driscoll co-sponsors Penn’s Women’s Health Certificate Program, a 4-year longitudinal program designed to provide medical students with in-depth exposure to women’s health. She serves on numerous health system and school committees and chairs the Clinical Practices of the University of Pennsylvania (CPUP) Clinical Operations Committee. Dr. Driscoll has implemented a highly successful comprehensive obstetrical safety and quality program. She is active in many professional organizations and currently is serving a 4-year term as President of the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Organizational Award
AWSlogo 100x137We are pleased to announce that the Association of Women Surgeons (AWS) is the 2017 recipient of the Group on Women in Medicine and Science Organizational Award. AWS, founded in 1981, is a not-for-profit educational and professional organization committed to supporting women surgeons at various stages in their career - from medical school through retirement. AWS is the driving force that inspires and engages current and future women surgeons to realize their professional and personal goals. AWS empowers women to succeed and excel in those aspirations through mentorship, education and a networking community that promotes their contributions and achievements as students, surgeons and leaders.