aamc.org does not support this web browser.
  • Affinity Group

    Leadership - GDI

    The GDI Steering Committee manages the affairs of the Group.

    The GDI Steering Committee (PDF) is composed of the Chair, Chair-Elect, Immediate-Past Chair, AAMC Constituent Director, Regional Participants, Group Liaisons, and Issue-Based Participants.


    Chiquita A. Collins, PhD, MA 
    Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion & Chief Diversity Officer
    University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

    Associate Professor, Department of Population Health Sciences
    Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine

    Ana E. Núñez, MD, FACP
    Vice Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
    Professor of Medicine
    University of Minnesota School of Medicine

    Past Chair
    J. Renee Navarro, MD, PharmD
    Vice Chancellor of Diversity and Outreach
    Professor of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care
    University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine

    Director of Constituent Engagement
    Juan Amador, CAE
    Director, Constituent Engagement
    Association of American Medical Colleges


    Central Region
    Valencia P. Walker, MD, MPH
    Associate Chief Diversity & Health Equity Officer
    Associate Division Chief for Health Equity & Inclusion
    Vice Chair, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
    The Ohio State University College of Medicine

    Northeast Region
    Renee Williams, MD, MHPE, FACG
    Associate Professor of Medicine
    Associate Chair, Saul J. Farber Program in Health Equity
    Director, GME Education
    New York University Grossman School of Medicine

    Southern Region
    Sheryl L. Heron, MD, MPH, FACEP
    Professor & Vice-Chair of Faculty Equity, Engagement & Empowerment
    Associate Dean, Community Engagement, Equity & Inclusion
    Associate Director for Education & Training
    Emory University School of Medicine

    Western Region
    Takesha Cooper, MD, MS
    Associate Professor of Psychiatry
    Program Director, Psychiatry Residency Training Program
    Vice Chair of Education, Psychiatry and Neuroscience
    UC Riverside School of Medicine

    Group Liaisons

    Group on Faculty Affairs (GFA) 
    Lisa D. Cain, PhD
    Adjunct Professor, Neurobiology and Anatomy, McGovern Medical School
    Professor, Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences, School of Dentistry
    Associate Dean for Professional Development and Faculty Affairs, School of Dentistry
    University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

    GSA-Committee on Student Diversity Affairs (COSDA) Chair
    Ann-Gel S. Palermo, MPH, DrPH
    Assoc. Dean for Diversity & Inclusion- Biomedical Education
    Associate Director of Operations, CMCA
    Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai


    LGBT Issue-Based 
    Nelson F. Sanchez, MD
    Associate Professor of Medicine, Weill Cornell Medicine
    Associate Attending, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
    Weill Cornell Medicine

    Disability Issue-Based 
    Feranmi O. Okanlami, MS, MD
    Clinical Assistant Professor
    Department of Family Medicine
    Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
    University of Michigan Medical School

    Resident Issue-Based 
    Adam Thompson-Harvey, MD
    Resident, Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
    Medical College of Wisconsin