aamc.org does not support this web browser. Learn more about the browsers we support.

New section

Content Background

New section

MERC Steering Committee

New section

New section

The MERC Steering Committee sets the agenda for the MERC program and provides overall guidance to AAMC staff about the conduct and direction of the MERC program.

Committee members provide advice about:

  • The vision for and general direction of the MERC program
  • Program content
  • Faculty participants
  • Sustainability (business models)

Committee members are expected to attend scheduled meetings that occur once each year. In addition, participation in conference calls is expected. Committee members are nominated by their GEA regions. Committee members serve staggered two year terms and this includes the option for a one year renewal.


Christopher J. Mooney, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry


Judy A. Shea, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Medical Education Research
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania


Cayla R. Teal, PhD, MA
Assistant Dean
University of Kansas Medical Center

Gary L. Beck Dallaghan, PhD
Director, Educational Scholarship
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Jorie Colbert-Getz, PhD
Associate Professor
The University of Utah

Michael L. Rowland, PhD
Associate Dean for Faculty Development
University of Kentucky College of Medicine

Rebecca D. Blanchard
Senior Director of Educational Affairs
Baystate Health

AAMC Staff

Nesha Brown
Senior Program Specialist, Educational Affairs

New section

New section