New section

Content Background

New section

Committees - GREAT

New section

New section

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee manages the affairs of the Group and approves all committee appointments. This committee meets two times a year; once in Washington, D.C., and once at the Group Annual Meeting.

Linda Hyman, PhD - Chair
Director of Education
Marine Biological Laboratory
Associate Provost, Graduate Medical 
Boston University School of Medicine

Terri O'Brien, PhD - Chair-elect
Associate Chancellor & Assistant Professor
University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine 

Members at Large

Nicquet Blake, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Admissions
UT Health San Antonio

Patrick Brandt, PhD
Director of Career Development and Training
Director of Science Outreach
The University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Paula Traktman, PhD 
Dean, College of Graduate Studies
Medical University of South Carolina College of Medicine

Ravi Misra, PhD 
Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Medical College of Wisconsin

Audra Van Wart, PhD 
Director of Education & Training
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

Issue Based Representative
Jabbar Bennett, PhD 

MD-PhD Section Officers

Barbara Kazmierczak, MD, PhD, MS – Chair
Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
Associate Professor of Medicine
Yale School of Medicine

Jose Cavazos, MD, PhD – Chair-elect
Assistant Dean and Director for the MD/PhD Program
University of Texas School of Medicine at San Antonio

Sandra Lemmon, PhD – Past Chair 
Director, MD-PhD 
University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine

Postdoc Section Officers

Lou Ann Brown, PhD – Chair
Assistant Dean, Director of the Office of Postdoctoral Education
Emory University School of Medicine

Linda M. McManus, PhD – Chair-elect
Distinguished Teaching Professor of Pathology
Director, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs
University of Texas Health San Antonio

Sofie Kleppner, PhD – Past Chair 
Associate Dean for Postdoctoral Affairs
Stanford University School of Medicine

Student Liaison

Jeffrey Kuniholm
PhD Candidate
Boston University School of Medicine

Postdoc Liaison

Derrick Morton, PhD
Postdoc Fellow
Emory University

COD Liaison

Bradley Britigan, MD 
Dean, College of Medicine
University of Nebraska Medical Center 

CFAS Liaison

Gabriela Popescu, PhD
Professor Biochemistry, Anesthesiology, Neuroscience
Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical 
Sciences at the University at Buffalo

Ph.D. Outreach Committee

The Ph.D. Outreach Committee was developed to provided educational and career resources to students interested in biomedical science careers.

Patricia Cameron, Ph.D. - Co-chair
Vice Dean for Graduate Studies, Medical College of Georgia
Augusta University

Nancy Street, Ph.D. - Co-chair
Associate Dean, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Assistant Professor, Microbiology
University of Texas, Southwestern Medical School

Victoria Freedman, Ph.D. 
Assistant Dean for Graduate Programs
Albert Einstein College of Medicine 

Nicole Beason, MS
Associate Director, Research Infrastructure
West Virginia University Health System

Joseph T. Barbieri, Ph.D. – MD-PhD Communications Committee Liaison
Director, Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
Medical College of Wisconsin

Sherilynn J. Black, Ph.D.
Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement
Director, Office of Biomedical Graduate Diversity
Asst. Professor of the Practice, Medical Education
Duke University School of Medicine

Nicquet Blake, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Admissions
UT Health San Antonio

Colin Campbell, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Graduate Education, Medical School
Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology
Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Pharmacology
University of Minnesota Medical School

Yewon Cheon, Ph.D.
Director, Postbac and Summer Research Program
National Institute of Health

Ronald J. Heustis, Ph.D.
Director of Student Development and Training Evaluation, Program in Graduate Education
Lecturer on Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Harvard Medical School

Lisa Salati, Ph.D.
Assistant Vice President for Graduate Education
West Virginia University School of Medicine

Nancy B. Schwartz, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Postdoctoral Affairs
Co-Director, Office of Graduate Affairs
Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
Director of the Kennedy Center
University of Chicago
The Pritzker School of Medicine

Sharolyn Kawakami-Schulz, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Professional Development
University of Minnesota Medical School

Linda Sealy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Cheryl L. Thompson, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean of Educational Initiatives, School of Medicine
Case Western Reserve University

David Van Vactor, Ph.D.
Professor of Cell Biology
Program Director/PI of Molecular Cellular and Development Dynamics T32
Faculty Director of Harvard Curriculum Fellows Program
Harvard Medical School

Audra Van Wart, Ph.D.
Director, Education and Training at VTC Research Institute
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

Cynthia Wright, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Admissions and Career Development, College of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor, Microbiology and Immunology
Medical University of South Carolina College of Medicine

New section

New section