aamc.org does not support this web browser. Learn more about the browsers we support.

New section

Content Background

New section

New section

New section

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee sets policy for the Group on Institutional Planning and manages GIP affairs. GIP members may use the membership directory to contact the Steering Committee.

Specific responsibilities of the Steering Committee include:

  • Setting the agenda for the upcoming year
  • Participating on Subcommittees
  • Reaching out to new members to welcome them to the GIP
  • Managing the GIP Distinguished Service award process
  • Being mindful of diversity of its membership and programs
  • Contributing to the GIP newsletter – articles of interest
  • Engaging with the Organization of Student Representative and Council of Deans liaisons


Niki Smith, MMHC
Director of Space Management
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Immediate Past Chair

Brian Smith, JD, MBA
Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer
Senior Associate Vice Chancellor - Research
University of California, San Francisco


Pamela Edwards
Executive Director - Facilities & Logistical Services
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

Member-at-Large (2022-2024)

Carolyn Brayko, PhD
Director, Institutional Effectiveness
University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine (UNR Med)

Member-at-Large (2022-2024)

Niraj Dangoria
Associate Dean
Office of Facilities Planning & Management
Stanford Medicine

Member-at-Large (2021-2023)

David Hefner, EdD
Vice President, Strategy & Institutional Effectiveness
Morehouse School of Medicine

Member-at-Large (2022-2024)

Janice Renfro, MBA
Strategic Planning Manager
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis

Member-at-Large (2021–2023)

Sri Sankarapu
Director of Space Planning
Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California

Member-at-Large (2022-2024)

Basma Selim, PhD
Assistant Dean, Planning & Knowledge Management
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

Council of Deans (COD) Liaison

Toni Ganzel, MD, MBA, FACS
University of Louisville School of Medicine

Organization of Student Representatives (OSR) Liaison

Ryan King
MD/MPH Candidate, Class of 2023
East Tennessee State University
Quillen College of Medicine

Past Chairs

Brian Smith—2022
Denise Johnson—2021
Katy Stevenson—2020
William Orosz—2019
Rebecca Saavedra—2018
Pam Bounelis—2017
Walter Douglas—2016
Linda Reimann—2015
Sean Ossont—2014
Angie Souza—2013
Rhonice Burnett—2012
Donna K. Gissen—2011
Robert Marriott—2010
David Browdy—2009
Thomas B. Higerd—2008
Steve Wiesenthal—2007
Nancy Tierney—2006
Steve Panish—2005
James Bardsley—2004
Maureen McCarry—2003
Patricia U. Winning—2002
Eric B. Vermillion—2001
James Bardsley—2000
David O'Brien—1999
Diana Carmichael—1998

Peter G. Robinson—1997
C. Alan Lyles—1996
Ann L. Schwind—1995
Mary Ann Newman—1994
David D. Pinter—1993
Ellen R. Krasik—1992
Thomas A. Rolinson—1991
Susan Vogt—1990
Robert E. Reynolds—1989
John Eudes—1988
Amber B. Jones—1987
Leonard Heller—1986
Victor Crown—1985
Marie Sinioris—1984
Thomas G. Fox—1983
David R. Perry—1982
J. Stephen Smith—1981
George Stuehler, Jr—1980
Constantine Stefanu—1979
Howard J. Barnhard—1978
Russell C. Mills—1977
John C. Bartlett—1976

New section

New section