New section

Hero

Special Interest Groups - CGEA

URL Segment
special-interest-groups

New section

The CGEA has a variety of active special interest groups (SIGs). The SIGs convene at the annual spring meeting where members also have dedicated time for workshops. For more information on individual groups, please contact the convener or co-convener listed below.

Academic and Learning Environment

Convener: Mark N. Beard, MD
The University of South Dakota
Sanford School of Medicine
Office: (605) 357-1404
Email: Mark.Beard@usd.edu

Basic Science Education

Convener: Robert Leven, PhD
Rush Medical College
Office: (312) 942-9588
Email: robert_leven@rush.edu

Clerkship Administrators

Convener: Donnita Pelser
University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita
Phone: (316) 962-2250
Email: dpelser@kumc.edu OR donnita.pelser@wesleymc.com

Continuing Quality Improvement

Co-Convener: Aleece Caron, PhD
MetroHealth System
Office: (216) 778-5834
Email: acaron@metrohealth.org

Co-Convener: Anna C. Maio MD
Creighton University School of Medicine
Office: (402) 280-5178
Email: amaio@creighton.edu

Culture, Health Medical Humanities

Convener: Diane Hummel, MA, MILS
Spectrum Health Libraries
Office: (616) 391-1655
Email: diane.hummel@spectrumhealth.org

Curriculum and Assessment

Convener: Brenda Roman, MD
Boonshoft School of Medicine Wright State University
Office: (937) 223-8840
Email: brenda.roman@wright.edu

Directors of Clinical Skills Courses (DOCS)

Convener: Pam Shaw MD, FAAP
University of Kansas Medical Center
Office: (913) 588-6329
Email: pshaw@kumc.edu

Education Leadership

Co-Convener: Jeffrey E. Pettit, PhD
University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine
Office: (319) 335-9910
Email: jeffrey-pettit@uiowa.edu

Co-Convener: Mark N. Beard, MD
The University of South Dakota
Sanford School of Medicine
Office: (605) 357-1404
Email: Mark.Beard@usd.edu

Faculty Development

Co-Convener: John D Mahan, MD
Professor of Pediatrics
Associate Director (Medical Education) The Center for Faculty Advancement, Mentoring and Engagement
The Ohio State University College of Medicine
Email: John.Mahan@NationwideChildrens.org

Co-Convener: Linda M. Love, EdD
Assistant Director of the Office of Faculty Development
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Phone: 402-559-5509
Email: lmlove@unmc.edu

Recorder: Larry Hurtubise, MA
Adjunct Associate Professor Department of Biomedical Education and Anatomy The Ohio state University
Associate Director, Center for Faculty Development
Phone: 614-722-8535
Larry.Hurtubise@NationwideChildrens.org

Interprofessional Education

Co -Convener: Heather Hageman
Email: hagemanh@wusm.wustl.edu

Co-Convener: Anna C. Maio MD
Creighton University School of Medicine
Office: (402) 280-5178
amaio@creighton.edu

Libraries in Medical Education

Co-Convener: Misa Mi, PhD, MA, MLIS, AHIP
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine Library
Office: (248) 370-3774
mi@oakland.edu

Co-Convener: Teresa (Teri) Hartman, MLS
Associate Professor
Education & Research Services McGoogan Library of Medicine
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Office: (402) 559-7075
thartman@unmc.edu

Population Medicine

Co-Convener: Joanna Michel, PhD
University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Medicine
Office: (312) 996-9620
jmiche3@uic.edu

Co-Convener: Judith Sayad, MPH (c)
UIC School of Public Health
Office: (312) 996-6625
jvsayad@uic.edu

Service-Learning

Convener: Joseph Kiesler, MD
Family and Community Medicine
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Office: (513) 558- 2095
joseph.kiesler@uc.edu

Simulation

Convener: Ellenkate Finley
Rush University Medical College
Ellenkate_Finley@rush.edu

Technology in Medical Education

Convener: Peggy Moore, MSEd
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Office: (402) 559-8082
Peggy.Moore@unmc.edu

Recorder: Max Anderson, MSLS, MS
Office of Curricular Affairs
University of Illinois at Chicago
Office: (312) 996-5898
max@uic.edu