aamc.org does not support this web browser. Learn more about the browsers we support.

New section

Content Background

New section

CFAS Committees - Council of Faculty and Academic Societies

New section

New section

All CFAS members are welcome to join committees to help translate the mission and values of CFAS into action. CFAS has created a document that explains how its committees are structured. For more information or to volunteer, contact cfas@aamc.org.

CFAS Advocacy Committee

Chair: Arthur Derse, MD, JD, FACEP, Julia and David Uihlein Chair in Medical Humanities; Professor of Bioethics and Emergency Medicine; Director of the Center for Bioethics and Medical Humanities at the Medical College of Wisconsin.

The CFAS Advocacy Committee will work with the AAMC Government Relation’s staff to provide opportunities for faculty members' voices to be heard on selected legislative and regulatory policy issues of priority importance to faculty and to engage faculty in support of the AAMC’s positions on such issues. The committee may be asked to review AAMC advocacy materials to facilitate their use by faculty, organize advocacy-related sessions at CFAS meetings, and suggest CFAS-sponsored conference calls and webinars on related topics. A key goal of the committee is to ensure message alignment with other AAMC constituent and leadership groups.

CFAS Communication Committee

Chair: Alan W. Dow, MD, MSHA, Seymour and Ruth Perlin Professor of Medicine and Health Administration; Assistant Vice President of Health Sciences for Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Care at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine.

The CFAS Communication Committee will develop mechanisms to allow the CFAS and AAMC leadership and staff to communicate effectively with CFAS representatives; to allow CFAS representatives to communicate effectively with their CFAS colleagues; and to explore, test, and implement innovative methods to engage medical school and teaching hospital faculty in bi-directional conversations and learning on critical issues affecting academic medicine.

CFAS Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Chair: Monica Baskin, PhD, Professor of Preventive Medicine and Vice Chair for Culture and Diversity in the Department of Medicine at the UAB School of Medicine; Associate Director for Community Outreach and Engagement at the O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB.

The CFAS Diversity and Inclusion Committee will elevate awareness of the importance of diversity among administrative board members and the leadership of CFAS, as well as seek to develop mechanisms to promote and empower diversity and inclusiveness in all CFAS activities. We define diversity broadly to include all aspects of human differences including but not limited to socioeconomic status, race, ethnicity, language, nationality, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, geography (including rural and highly rural areas), disability, and age. This committee will collaborate with the Group on Diversity and Inclusion (GDI) and other relevant AAMC groups to facilitate and promote development of innovative methods of education, research, policy, and clinical practice that focus on issues of diversity, inclusion, and respectful interactions.

CFAS Biomedical Research and Education Committee

Chair: Richard L. Eckert, PhD, Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

The CFAS Biomedical Research and Education Committee (BREC) will work with the AAMC Chief Scientific Officer to provide opportunities for basic science faculty (in both basic science and clinical departments) to discuss issues of concern. Such issues may include the impact of research and other funding trends on faculty vitality and their mission activities; defining, evaluating, and promoting the value of fundamental research to the public, policy makers, and other members of the academic community; training and sustaining the research and basic science educator workforces of the future; and other issues. The committee is expected to work closely with the CFAS Advocacy Committee and AAMC professional development groups such as the Group on Faculty Affairs; the Group on Women in Medicine and Science; the Group on Research Advancement and Development; and the Graduate Research, Education, and Training Group.

CFAS Program Committee

Chair: Nita Ahuja, MD, William H. Carmalt Professor of Surgery and Chair of the Department of Surgery at the Yale School of Medicine; Interim Director of Yale Cancer Center; Interim Physician-in-Chief, Smilow Cancer Hospital

The CFAS Program Committee is charged with developing the program for the CFAS Spring Meeting. The committee can also recommend to the CFAS Administrative Board the convening of special topic or theme meetings, webinars, conference calls, or other such initiatives. The committee is specifically charged with exploring new and innovative ways to engage CFAS representatives in the work of council.

CFAS Mission Alignment and Impact of Faculty Educators Committee

Chair: Stewart Babbott, MD, Professor, General Medicine, Geriatrics and Palliative Care, University of Virginia School of Medicine.

The CFAS Mission Alignment and Impact of Faculty Educators Committee (formerly named CFAS Mission Alignment and Faculty Values Task Force) focuses on the role of basic science in medical education — to consider both the scientific foundation of clinical medical knowledge as well as the preparation of clinician scientists. It explores the professional activities that might be expected of a graduating medical student and the impact of competency-based education on the length of training in various specialties. The committee also focuses on the preparedness of residency graduates to enter into the unsupervised practice of medicine and transition to independent practice.

CFAS Nominating and Engagement Committee

Chair: Gabriela K. Popescu, PhD, Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Jacobs School of Medicine & Biomedical Sciences.

The CFAS Nominating and Engagement Committee shall be composed of two subcommittees; one conforming to the nominating committee composition requirements contained in the CFAS Rules and Regulations and charged with the nominating committee activities described in that document; and a second subcommittee of the whole to undertake other activities.

CFAS Faculty Resilience Committee

Chair: Catherine Florio Pipas, MD, MPH, Professor of Medical Education at Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine.

The CFAS Faculty Resilience Committee (formerly named Work-Life Balance Task Force) is charged with identifying institutional (both medical school and academic society) practices that successfully promote faculty vitality and well-being in both their professional and personal lives. The committee will consider the how CFAS can facilitate the personal and professional success of CFAS representatives. The committee is specifically charged with making recommendations to the CFAS Administrative Board and Program Committee on how the CFAS can best take advantage of the demographic and professional variety of the council’s representatives.

New section

New section