Skip to Content

AAMC Awards

Through its prestigious awards program, the AAMC honors individuals and organizations making significant contributions to improve the health of all. These awards recognize the talent and contributions made by the academic medicine community and allies in other professions to advance innovation in medical education, cutting-edge patient care, groundbreaking research, and outstanding community service. Awardees are honored at a formal dinner held during Learn Serve Lead: the AAMC’s Annual Meeting.

The AAMC continually strives to attract a more robust and diverse pool of nominations to be considered for these prestigious awards. Diversity as a core value embodies inclusiveness, mutual respect, and multiple perspectives and serves as a catalyst for change resulting in health equity. In this context, we are mindful of all aspects of human differences such as socioeconomic status, race, ethnicity, language, nationality, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, geography, disability, and age.

We are now accepting nominations for the 2019 Awards. Faculty and staff at medical schools and teaching hospitals are encouraged to identify candidates for the following awards and prepare one or more nominations. There are no fees required to submit nominations, and there is no limit on how many nominations you may submit. For detailed nomination information, go to the individual award pages listed below:

Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education

The Flexner Award is granted annually to an individual for extraordinary contributions to the medical education community.

Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards

The Alpha Omega Alpha Distinguished Teacher Awards recognize the significant contributions to medical education made by gifted teachers.

Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences

The Award for Distinguished Research honors outstanding biomedical research related to health and disease.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation David E. Rogers Award

The RWJF Rogers Award is granted annually to a member of a medical school faculty who has made major contributions to improving the health and health care of the American people.

Herbert W. Nickens Award

The Nickens Award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to promoting justice in medical education and the health care of the American people.

Herbert W. Nickens Faculty Fellowship

The Nickens fellowship recognizes an outstanding junior faculty member who holds the rank of assistant professor in a LCME-accredited U.S. medical school department.

Herbert W. Nickens Medical Student Scholarships

The Nickens scholarships recognize outstanding academic achievement of medical students entering the third year in a LCME-accredited U.S. medical school.

Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Award recognizes a medical school faculty physician who exemplifies the qualities of a caring and compassionate mentor in the teaching and advising of medical students.

Spencer Foreman Award for Outstanding Community Engagement

The Spencer Foreman Award is presented annually to a member institution or organization with a longstanding, major institutional commitment to addressing community needs.

Tips for Preparing a Compelling Nomination


Learn about grants and awards received by the AAMC