aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    Leadership - GWIMS

    GWIMS Steering Committee

    The call for applications is now open.

    Submit Application

    The GWIMS steering committee advocates for the advancement of women faculty and learners in medical education, research, clinical practice, and administrative leadership; promotes sustainable strategies to enhance institutional climates of inclusion, equity, and opportunity, and collects, analyzes, and applies data to inform institutional practices.

    Committee efforts include input into the development of AAMC policy, strategic engagement with AAMC Action Plans, and combined efforts to release relevant and compelling data on women in academic medicine and science that describes both challenges and solutions.


    Amy S. Gottlieb, MD, FACP
    Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
    Professor of Medicine and Obstetrics & Gynecology
    University of Massachusetts Medical School – Baystate


    Elizabeth (Libby) Ellinas, MD
    Associate Dean for Women's Leadership
    Professor, Anesthesiology
    Director, Center for the Advancement of Women in Science and Medicine
    Medical College of Wisconsin

    Past Chair

    Toi B. Harris, MD
    Senior Vice President & Chief Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Officer
    Memorial Hermann Health System
    Professor of Psychiatry, Baylor College of Medicine

    Members at Large

    Allison C. Augustus-Wallace, PhD, MS, MNS, DEIC
    Associate Professor-Research and Director, Undergraduate Pathway Programs for Diversity
    LSUHealth-New Orleans, School of Medicine

    Linda Barry, MD, MPH, FACS
    Associate Professor of Surgery
    Director, Office of Multicultural and Community Affairs
    Director, Visiting Externship for Underrepresented Students in Medicine (VESUM)
    University of Connecticut School of Medicine

    Kimberly Bibb, MD
    Associate Professor, School of Medicine
    University of Mississippi Medical Center

    Sonya Jacobs, MS
    Chief Organizational Learning Officer 
    Senior Director, Faculty Development
    University of Michigan Medical School

    Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH, MACP
    Professor and Vice Chair of Medical Oncology and Chief of Cancer Services 
    Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University

    Christina Mangurian, MD, MAS
    Vice Dean of Faculty & Academic Affairs, UCSF School of Medicine
    Lynne and Marc Benioff Professor of Psychiatry
    Professor of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences and Epidemiology & Biostatistics

    Kenya McNeal-Trice, MD
    Associate Professor of Pediatrics
    University of North Carolina School of Medicine

    Tamara Nowling, PhD
    Past Chair, Career Development Program
    Associate Professor of Medicine
    Medical University of South Carolina

    Courtney A. Schreiber, MD, MPH
    Stuart and Emily B.H. Mudd Professor of Human Behavior & Reproduction
    Chief, Division of Family Planning
    Obstetrics and Gynecology
    Executive Director, FOCUS on Health and Leadership for Women
    Perelman School of Medicine
    University of Pennsylvania

    Helen Yin, PhD
    Associate Dean, Office of Women's Careers Professor of Physiology
    University of Texas Southwestern Medical School

    AAMC Group Liaisons

    COD Liaison
    Archana Chatterjee, MD, PhD
    Dean, Chicago Medical School
    Vice President for Medical Affairs

    Special Interest Liaison
    John Cullen, PhD
    Director of Diversity & Inclusion
    Clinical & Translational Science Institute
    University of Rochester Medical Center

    Steering Committee Nominations and Voting Period

    Nominations to join the steering committee opens in the Spring of each year. Applications are reviewed in full by the nominations committee in July. Voting by electronic ballot will begin in early to mid-August. All candidates will be notified of committee decisions prior to the launch of the voting period. All GWIMS members are eligible to cast a vote on the slate of candidates put forward to join the steering committee. The Chair-Elect for the GWIMS Steering Committee is voted upon by the Steering Committee.