aamc.org does not support this web browser.
  • Affinity Group

    Committees - GIP

    Steering Committee

    The steering committee sets policy for the Group on Institutional Planning and manages GIP affairs. GIP members may use the membership directory to contact the steering committee.

    Specific responsibilities of the Steering Committee include:

    • Setting the agenda for the upcoming year.
    • Participating on subcommittees.
    • Reaching out to new members to welcome them to the GIP.
    • Managing the GIP Distinguished Service award process.
    • Being mindful of diversity of its membership and programs.
    • Contributing to the GIP newsletter—articles of interest.
    • Engaging with the Organization of Student Representative and Council of Deans liaisons.


    Niki Smith, MMHC
    Associate Vice President
    Space Management
    Vanderbilt University Medical Center

    Immediate Past Chair

    Brian Smith, JD, MBA
    Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer
    Senior Associate Vice Chancellor - Research
    University of California, San Francisco


    Pamela Edwards
    Executive Director
    Facilities and Logistical Services
    Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

    Member-at-Large (2022-2024)

    Carolyn Brayko, PhD
    Institutional Effectiveness
    University of Nevada, Reno, School of Medicine

    Member-at-Large (2022-2024)

    Niraj Dangoria
    Associate Dean
    Office of Facilities Planning and Management
    Stanford Medicine

    Member-at-Large (2021-2023)

    David Hefner, EdD
    Vice President, Strategy and Institutional Effectiveness
    Morehouse School of Medicine

    Member-at-Large (2022-2024)

    Janice Renfro, MBA
    Strategic Planning Manager
    BJC Healthcare

    Member-at-Large (2021-2023)

    Sri Sankarapu, M.Arch, NCIDQ, LEED AP
    Director of Space Planning
    Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California

    Member-at-Large (2022-2024)

    Basma Selim, PhD
    Assistant Dean
    Planning and Knowledge Management
    University of Central Florida College of Medicine

    Council of Deans (COD) Liaison

    Toni Ganzel, MD, MBA, FACS
    University of Louisville School of Medicine

    Organization of Student Representatives (OSR) Liaison

    Ryan King
    MD-MPH Candidate, Class of 2023
    East Tennessee State University James H. Quillen College of Medicine 
    Quillen College of Medicine

    Past Chairs

    Brian Smith, 2022
    Denise Johnson, 2021
    Katy Stevenson, 2020
    William Orosz, 2019
    Rebecca Saavedra, 2018
    Pam Bounelis, 2017
    Walter Douglas, 2016
    Linda Reimann, 2015
    Sean Ossont, 2014
    Angie Souza, 2013
    Rhonice Burnett, 2012
    Donna K. Gissen, 2011
    Robert Marriott, 2010
    David Browdy, 2009
    Thomas B. Higerd, 2008
    Steve Wiesenthal, 2007
    Nancy Tierney, 2006
    Steve Panish, 2005
    James Bardsley, 2004
    Maureen McCarry, 2003
    Patricia U. Winning, 2002
    Eric B. Vermillion, 2001
    James Bardsley, 2000
    David O'Brien, 1999
    Diana Carmichael, 1998

    Peter G. Robinson, 1997
    C. Alan Lyles, 1996
    Ann L. Schwind, 1995
    Mary Ann Newman, 1994
    David D. Pinter, 1993
    Ellen R. Krasik, 1992
    Thomas A. Rolinson, 1991
    Susan Vogt, 1990
    Robert E. Reynolds, 1989
    John Eudes, 1988
    Amber B. Jones, 1987
    Leonard Heller, 1986
    Victor Crown, 1985
    Marie Sinioris, 1984
    Thomas G. Fox, 1983
    David R. Perry, 1982
    J. Stephen Smith, 1981
    George Stuehler, Jr, 1980
    Constantine Stefanu, 1979
    Howard J. Barnhard, 1978
    Russell C. Mills, 1977
    John C. Bartlett, 1976