aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    Merrell Flair Award in Medical Education


    To honor an individual who has made a major contribution over a significant time period to the process or administration or transmission of information regarding medical education in North America.


    The awardee must be or have been active in the Group on Educational Affairs and have been recognized by peers for a leadership role in the field of medical education as well as in the Group on Educational Affairs. Current involvement is not essential though will be considered as a positive factor. Previous participation is essential.

    The contributions made by the awardee to the field of medical education should have had a strong positive impact on the education, administrative process, or public image of the Group on Educational Affairs as an organization and the membership of the GEA. The awardee should be affiliated at the time of the award with an active organization within the AAMC or retired from such an organization. This institution should be represented within the Group on Educational Affairs.


    The GEA Steering Committee will consider both self-nominations as well as nominations on behalf of deserving GEA colleagues. Please submit Letters of Nomination to the GEA mail box (GEA@aamc.org) by Thursday, September 21, 2023 at 11:59 pm PT.

    Questions? Contact Stephen McKenzie.

    Read the call for nominations (PDF)

    Recipients of Merrell Flair Award

    Elizabeth G. Armstrong, PhD 2022
    Steve Durning, PhD 2019
    Judy Shea, PhD, 2018
    Gary Rosenfeld, PhD, 2017
    Brian Mavis, PhD, 2016
    Larry D. Gruppen, PhD, 2015
    N. Kevin Krane, MD, 2014
    Steven Kanter, MD, 2013
    Carol Elam, EdD,  2012
    Patricia O'Sullivan MS, EdD, 2011
    Karen Mann, PhD, 2010
    Lois Nora, MD, JD, 2009
    Jim Woolliscroft, MD, 2008
    Deborah Simpson, PhD, 2007
    Ruth-Marie E. Fincher, MD, 2006
    LuAnn Wilkerson, EdD,  2005
    Linda Distlehorst, PhD, 2004
    S. Scott Obenshain, MD, 2003
    Alberto Galofre, MD,  2002
    Louise Arnold, PhD, 2001
    Reed G. Williams, PhD, 2000
    Georges Bordage, MD, PhD, 1999
    Ian Hart, MD, 1998
    Frank Stritter, PhD,  1997
    Thompson Bowles, MD, 1996
    Terrill A. Mast, PhD, 1995
    Murray Kappelman, MD, 1994
    Paula Stillman, MD, 1993
    Stephen Abrahamson, PhD, 1992
    August Swanson, MD, 1991
    Loren Williams, PhD, 1990
    George Miller, MD, 1989
    Christine McGuire, 1988