Skip to Content

Herbert W. Nickens Award

Dr. Herbert W. Nickens was the founding vice president of the AAMC’s (Association of American Medical College) Diversity Policy and Programs unit (formerly Division of Community and Minority Programs).  His passionate leadership contributed greatly to focusing national attention on the need to support underrepresented minorities in medicine. He believed that a multidisciplinary approach is needed to address inequities in health. As a result, nominees may come from a wide range of fields, including medicine, dentistry, education, law, nursing, pharmacy, public health, and social and behavioral sciences.

The award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to promoting justice in medical education and health care equity in the United States. The recipient receives a $10,000 award and presents the Nickens Lecture at the AAMC Annual Meeting.

Nomination Process

The deadline to email your nomination packet is May 1, 2015.

The nomination packet must include:

1. a nomination letter that explains the nominee's qualifications for the award by:

  • highlighting their specific work in the United States to promote social justice in medical education and health equities; and
  • includes at least two brief testimonials interwoven into the letter that support their contributions to promoting social justice in medical education and health equities.

2. a current curriculum vitae (CV) for the nominee.

Note: The letter must be doubled-spaced with 1” margins and Times New Roman font size 12, and not exceed six (6) pages.  The committee will not review additional materials.

Please email your completed nomination package (in a single file) to Angela Moses at by May 1, 2015. Late nominations will not be considered.

Commemorating Dr. Herbert W. Nickens' Legacy

Interactive Commemorative Program:
Reflections on Diversity and Inclusion in Academic Medicine 

Nomination Packet Checklist

Herbert W. Nickens Award Packet Check List 

2015 Herbert W. Nickens Award Brochure

2015 Award Brochure 

Herbert W. Nickens Award Recipients

Email nominations to: