aamc.org does not support this web browser.

Herbert W. Nickens Award Recipients

Nickens Award recipients come from a wide range of fields including medicine, dentistry, education, law, nursing, pharmacy, public health, and social and behavioral sciences.

Recent recipients:

Previous recipients:

  • 2018 Griffin P. Rodgers, MD, National Institutes of Health
  • 2017 – George C. Hill, PhD, Vanderbilt University
  • 2016 – Somnath Saha, MD, MPH, Oregon Health & Science University and VA Portland Health Care System
  • 2015 – Ana E. Núñez, MD, Drexel University College of Medicine
  • 2014 – Lisa Cooper, MD, MPH, FACP, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • 2013 – Aaron Shirley, MD, Jackson Medical Mall Foundation
  • 2012 – David Hayes-Bautista, PhD, university of California, Los Angeles, David Geffen School of Medicine
  • 2011 – Elijah Saunders, MD, FACC, FACP, Professor of Medicine, University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • 2010 – Alvin F. Poussaint, MD, Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School
  • 2009 – Jeanne C. Sinkford, DDS, PhD, Associate Executive Director, American Dental Education Association
  • 2008 – Vivian W. Pinn, MD, Associate Director for Research on Women's Health, National Institute of Health
  • 2007 – M. Roy Wilson, MD, Chancellor University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center Chairman of the Board University of Colorado Hospital
  • 2006 – Spero M. Manson, PhD., Professor of Psychiatry and Head University of Colorado of Denver and Health Sciences Center
  • 2005 – Joan Y. Reede, MD, MPH, MS, Dean, Diversity and Community Partnership Associate Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School
  • 2004 – Michael V. Drake, MD, Vice President for Health Affairs University of California
  • 2003 – Anna Cherrie Epps, PhD, Senior Advisor to the President for Academic Affairs Meharry Medical College
  • 2002 – David Satcher, M.D., PhD, Director of the National Center for Primary Care Morehouse School of Medicine
  • 2001 – Lee C. Bollinger, JD, President University of Michigan
  • 2000 – Donald E. Wilson, MD, Vice President of Medical Affairs and Dean University of Maryland School of Medicine