New section


Herbert W. Nickens Medical Student Scholarships

New section

Extended Deadline: April 24, 2020

These awards consist of five scholarships given to outstanding students entering their third year of medical school who have shown leadership in efforts to eliminate inequities in medical education and health care. They also should have demonstrated leadership initiative in addressing educational, societal, and health care needs of racial and ethnic minorities in the United States. Each recipient receives a $5,000 scholarship.

Learn about Dr. Herbert W. Nickens’ contributions to academic medicine in Reflections on Diversity and Inclusion in Academic Medicine commemorating the 15th anniversary of the Nickens award.

Past Recipients

Herbert W. Nickens Medical Student Scholarships

A medical school may nominate one student per year for this award. A candidate must be:

  • A U.S. citizen, permanent resident, or an individual granted deferred action for childhood arrivals (DACA) status
  • Entering the third year of study in a LCME-accredited U.S. medical school in Fall 2020

Students enrolled in combined degree programs (such as MD/PhD) are eligible when they are entering their third year of medical school.

The nomination packet must include:

1.    A nomination letter from the medical school's dean or dean's designee (not to exceed four double-spaced pages) stating verbatim that the candidate has maintained good academic standing throughout the first two years, (“maintained good academic standing” must be stated for consideration) and discussing the nominee's:

  • Demonstrated leadership efforts in addressing the educational, societal, and health-care needs of racial and ethnic minorities
  • Awards and honors that show commitment to eliminating inequities
  • Special research projects, and/or extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership abilities
  • Any outstanding achievement while in medical school

2.    A letter of recommendation from the institutional GSA diversity affairs officer (not to exceed four double-spaced pages). Should the institution not have a GSA diversity affairs officer, the nominator must be noted in the cover sheet as the replacement.

3.    A letter of recommendation from a faculty member (not to exceed four double-spaced pages).

4.    A personal statement by the nominee assessing their leadership efforts in eliminating inequities in medical education and health care for racial and ethnic minorities (not to exceed two double-spaced pages).

5.    A curriculum vitae (CV) for the nominee, which clearly highlights awards and scholarships, and includes contact information.

All letters and personal statements should be double-spaced, have one-inch margins, and be written in Times New Roman 12-point font.

The deadline to submit nominations is April 24, 2020. Late nominations will not be considered.

  • 2017 - Yvorn Aswad, University of California, Los Angeles; Nattaly Greene, Oregon Health & Sciences University; Linda Magana, Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University; Nancy Rodriquez, University of California, Davis; Denisse Rojas Marquez, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai 
  • 2016 - Kirsten Concha-Moore, The University of Arizona College of Medicine; Edgar Corona, UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine; Santiago Diaz, The University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine; Kamaal A. Jones, Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine; Giselle Lynch, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai 
  • 2015 - Jessica Buck, Weill Cornell Medical College; Maximilian Cruz, Cooper Medical School of Rowan University; Lucy Ogbu-Nwobodo, University of California, Davis School of Medicine; Jaire Saunders, University of California, Riverside School of Medicine; Mary Tate, Harvard Medical School 

Past Recipients