aamc.org does not support this web browser.
  • Press Release

    AAMC Announces 2022-2023 Board of Directors

    Press Contacts

    John Buarotti, Sr. Public Relations Specialist

    The AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges) has announced its 2022-2023 Board of Directors. The incoming board’s term begins Nov. 15 and will end at the conclusion of Learn Serve Lead: The AAMC Annual Meeting in November 2023.

    LouAnn Woodward, MD, vice chancellor for health affairs at the University of Mississippi Medical Center and dean of the University of Mississippi Medical Center School of Medicine, has been elected to serve as chair of the AAMC Board of Directors. She will succeed Kirk A. Calhoun, MD, president of the University of Texas (UT) at Tyler, who will become immediate past chair. Leon “Lee” Jones, MD, dean for medical education and professor of psychiatry at Georgetown University School of Medicine, has been named chair-elect and will succeed Woodward next year.

    Woodward assumed her current dual role as vice chancellor for health affairs and dean of the school of medicine at UMMC in 2015. In 2013, she was appointed as a member of the Liaison Committee for Medical Education, the accrediting body for all medical schools in the United States and Canada, which is co-sponsored by the AAMC and the American Medical Association. She became chair of the committee in July 2017. A native of Mississippi’s Carroll County, Woodward graduated from Mississippi State University in Starkville, Miss., and completed medical school and a residency in emergency medicine at UMMC. She later joined the faculty in the Department of Emergency Medicine, where she currently holds the rank of tenured professor.

    Jones became dean for medical education at Georgetown University School of Medicine in 2021. Prior to joining Georgetown University, he served as associate dean for students and health sciences clinical professor of psychiatry at the University of California (UC) San Francisco School of Medicine. Jones received his medical degree from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons and completed his residency at UCLA's Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior. Following residency, he completed a consultation-liaison fellowship at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York City, and a research fellowship at UC San Diego. Jones previously served as chair of the AAMC Group on Student Affairs.

    In addition to the chair and chair-elect, the AAMC Board of Directors includes the AAMC president and CEO, immediate past chair, and chairs and chairs-elect from the association’s three member councils: Council of Deans, Council of Teaching Hospitals and Health Systems, and Council of Faculty and Academic Societies. The board also has nine at-large members, including a medical student, a resident physician, a junior faculty member, and two “public” members not affiliated with the AAMC, a medical school, or a teaching hospital.

    The members of the 2022-2023 AAMC Board of Directors are:


    LouAnn Woodward, MD
    University of Mississippi Medical Center


    Lee Jones, MD
    Georgetown University

    Immediate Past Chair:

    Kirk A. Calhoun, MD
    The University of Texas at Tyler

    President and CEO:

    David J. Skorton, MD

    Nita Ahuja, MD, MBA
    Yale University

    Robert A. Barish, MD, MBA
    University of Illinois Chicago

    Catherine L. Coe, MD
    University of North Carolina

    Henri R. Ford, MD, MHA
    University of Miami

    Julie A. Freischlag, MD
    Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist

    Martha E. Gaines, JD, LLM
    University of Wisconsin

    Aviad Haramati, PhD
    Georgetown University

    Jennifer Hayashi
    Tulane University

    Danny Jacobs, MD, MPH
    Oregon Health & Science University

    Cara V. James, PhD
    Grantmakers In Health

    Charles P. Mouton, MD, MS, MBA
    The University of Texas Medical Branch

    Dennis Murphy, MHA
    Indiana University Health

    Joan Y. Reede, MD, MS, MPH, MBA
    Harvard University

    Adam C. Thompson-Harvey, MD
    Medical College of Wisconsin

    Michael Waldrum, MD, MSc, MBA
    ECU Health

    The AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges) is a nonprofit association dedicated to improving the health of people everywhere through medical education, health care, medical research, and community collaborations. Its members are all 158 U.S. medical schools accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education; 13 accredited Canadian medical schools; approximately 400 academic health systems and teaching hospitals, including Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers; and more than 70 academic societies. Through these institutions and organizations, the AAMC leads and serves America’s medical schools, academic health systems and teaching hospitals, and the millions of individuals across academic medicine, including more than 193,000 full-time faculty members, 96,000 medical students, 153,000 resident physicians, and 60,000 graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in the biomedical sciences. Following a 2022 merger, the Alliance of Academic Health Centers and the Alliance of Academic Health Centers International broadened participation in the AAMC by U.S. and international academic health centers.