aamc.org does not support this web browser. Learn more about the browsers we support.

New section


Board of Directors

New section

The AAMC is governed by a 17-member Board of Directors.

  • The Chair, Chair-elect, and Immediate Past Chair
  • The President/CEO
  • The Chair and Chair-Elect of each AAMC membership Council (Faculty and Academic Societies, Deans, Teaching Hospitals and Health Systems)
  • Seven at-large members to include a student, a resident, and a public member

Board Members, 2020-2021

J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhD

University of Pennsylvania

Kirk A. Calhoun, MD

The University of Texas at Tyler

Joseph E. Kerschner, MD

Immediate Past Chair
Medical College of Wisconsin

New section

David J. Skorton, MD

President and CEO
Association of American Medical Colleges

Peter F. Buckley, MD

Virginia Commonwealth University

Julie A. Freischlag, MD

Wake Forest Baptist Health

New section

Aviad Haramati, PhD

Georgetown University

Brittany N. Hasty, MD, MHPE

Loyola University Medical Center

Danny Jacobs, MD, MPH

Oregon Health & Science University

New section

Beverley H. Johnson

Institute for Patient- and Family-Centered Care

Lee D. Jones, MD

University of California, San Francisco

Gabriela K. Popescu, PhD, MS

University at Buffalo

New section

Elizabeth L. Travis, PhD, MEd

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Michael Waldrum, MD, MSc, MBA

Vidant Health

Kate Walsh, MPH

Boston Medical Center

New section

Marie C. Walters, PhD, MS

Wright State University

LouAnn Woodward, MD

University of Mississippi Medical Center

New section

New section

Board Nominations

The Board of Directors accepts nominations of interested individuals throughout the year. Please express your interest and previous governance experience via a short email.