Skip to Content

Association of American Medical Colleges Tomorrow's Doctors, Tomorrow's Cures®

Herbert W. Nickens Faculty Fellowship

The award recognizes an outstanding junior faculty member who has demonstrated leadership in the United States in addressing inequities in medical education and health care; demonstrated efforts in addressing educational, societal, and health care needs racial and ethnic minorities; and is committed to a career in academic medicine. The recipient receives a $15,000 grant to support his or her academic and professional activities. Funding for the fellowship begins in November of the year the fellowship is awarded. The recipient will be required to submit a final narrative and financial reports.

Request for Nominations

The deadline to email your nomination packet is May 1, 2015. (Print Check List)

A medical school may nominate one current faculty member per year for this award. A candidate must:

  • be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident;
  • hold the rank of full-time assistant professor in an LCME-accredited U.S. medical school department;
  • have held the assistant professor position for no more than three years,
  • have received only one appointment as assistant professor; and
  • hold a M.D., Ph.D., or have earned another doctoral degree.

The nomination packet must include:

1. a nomination letter from the medical school's dean or the dean's designate (please state if dean's designated) discussing the nominee's:

  • demonstrated leadership (or leadership potential) in addressing inequities in medical education and health care,
  • demonstrated efforts in (or potential for) addressing educational, societal, and health care needs of racial and ethnic minorities, and
  • strong commitment to a career in academic medicine;

2. a letter of recommendation from the nominee's department or section chair;

3. a letter of recommendation of the nominee's choosing;

4. a personal statement from the nominee, which does not exceed four double-spaced pages, discussing his or her motivations and objectives for a career in academic medicine;

5. an itemized one-page budget with specific details on how the fellowship funds will be used; and

6. a current curriculum vitae (CV) for the nominee, which clearly indicates exact date of appointment and contact information.

*All nomination letters and personal statement should be double-spaced with one inch margins, and size 12, Times New Roman font.

Please email your completed nomination package (in a single file) to Angela Moses at by May 1, 2015. Late nominations will not be considered.

Commemorating Dr. Herbert W. Nickens' Legacy

Interactive Commemorative Program:
Reflections on Diversity and Inclusion in Academic Medicine 

Nomination Packet Checklist

Faculty Fellowship Nomination Packet Checklist 

2015 Nickens Faculty Award Brochure

Faculty Award Brochure 

2014 Nickens Award Winner

Roberta Capp

Roberta Capp, M.D., M.H.S. 
Assistant Professor, Department of Emergency
Medicine University of Colorado School of Medicine

Previous Nickens Faculty Fellowship Award Winners

Herbert W. Nickens Award winners from 2000 - 2014.

Send nominations to: