aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    Leadership - CFAS

    Governance and Committee Structures

    The council’s activities are led by a 15-member administrative board. Ad Board candidates self-nominate, are evaluated by the Nominating and Engagement Committee, and are confirmed by a vote of the CFAS membership at every other CFAS Spring Meeting.

    All CFAS representatives are welcome to join our committees to help translate the mission and values of CFAS into action.

    Administrative Board, 2023-2024

    The CFAS Administrative Board (ad board) consists of 15 members, including the chair, chair-elect and immediate past chair, and 12 society and medical school representatives selected by their fellow CFAS reps. The ad board develops programs and initiatives for the full council and acts on its behalf with regard to AAMC business and policy initiatives.

    Chair: Nita Ahuja, MD
    William H. Carmalt Professor of Surgery; Chair, Department of Surgery; Interim Director, Yale Cancer Center; Interim Physician-in-Chief, Smilow Cancer Hospital
    Yale School of Medicine

    Chair-Elect: Arthur Derse, MD, JD
    Association of Bioethics Program Directors (ABPD)
    Julia and David Uihlein Chair in Medical Humanities
    Medical College of Wisconsin

    Immediate Past Chair: Aviad “Adi” Haramati, PhD
    Professor of Integrative Physiology in the Departments of Biochemistry, Molecular and Cellular Biology, and Medicine (Nephrology)
    Georgetown University Medical Center

    Administrative Board Members

    Adam Franks, MD
    Professor and Associate Residency Director of Family Medicine
    Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine

    Monica Baskin, PhD
    Assistant Vice Chancellor for Community Health Equity, Health Sciences; Professor of medicine, Division of Hematology/Oncology, School of Medicine; Associate Director of Community Outreach, Hillman Cancer Center
    University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences

    Kimberly Lumpkins, MD
    Assistant Professor of Surgery
    University of Maryland Medical School

    Catherine Florio Pipas, MD
    Professor, Department of Community and Family Medicine
    Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
    American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)

    Lily Belfi, MD
    Associate Professor of Clinical Radiology
    Weill Cornell Medical College

    Stewart Babbott, MD
    Professor, General Medicine, Geriatrics and Palliative Care
    University of Virginia School of Medicine

    Steven Angus, MD
    Professor of Medicine, Designated Institutional Official
    UConn Health

    Nicholas Delamere, PhD
    Department Head of Physiology and Professor of Ophthalmology and Physiology
    The University of Arizona Health Sciences College of Medicine Tuscon

    Deanna Sasaki-Adams, MD
    Professor of Neurosurgery
    University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Medicine

    Neil Osheroff, PhD
    John G. Coniglio Chair in Biochemistry, Professor of Biochemistry and Medicine
    Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

    Valencia Walker, MD, MPH
    Vice Dean for Health Equity and Inclusion
    Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

    Shirley “Lee” Eisner, PhD
    Associate Professor of Cell Biology
    State University of New York Downstate Medical Center College of Medicine

    Ex-Officio Member: Group on Faculty Affairs (GFA) Chair
    Lisa D. Cain, PhD

    Associate Dean for Professional Development and Faculty Affairs
    UT Health Houston School of Dentistry