Skip to Content

Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education

The Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education is awarded annually to an individual for extraordinary contributions to the medical education community. The award was first presented by the association in 1958 and is the AAMC's most prestigious honor. The Flexner Award recognizes the highest standards in medical education and honors individuals whose impact on medical education is national in scope. The nomination deadline is May 6, 2016.

Request for Nominations

Nominations may be made by any faculty or staff member of a medical school or teaching hospital or by any member of an academic society. The Award Selection Committee may also solicit nominations. Any individual who has made a significant contribution to medical education is eligible for nomination.

Nominations for the Flexner Award must include:

  • A statement of evidence in justification of the nomination*
  • The nominee's curriculum vitae, including current address.

*The statement of evidence letter must include the nominator's contact information and should be addressed to the Flexner Award Selection Committee. Seconding letters of support are not necessary; however, if such letters are solicited, the committee will accept no more than three supporting letters for any nomination.

The winner of the award will be notified by July 31, 2016, and honored at Learn Serve Lead 2016 with the Flexner Medal and a prize of $10,000.

Please email your completed nomination package to Sandra Gordon at

Please address all questions to:

Sandra Gordon
Association of American Medical Colleges
655 K Street, NW, Suite 100
Washington, DC 20001-2339

Recent Flexner Award Recipients

Elizabeth Armstrong, PhD, Harvard Macy Institute and Harvard Medical School (2016)

Brian D. Hodges, MD, PhD, University of Toronto (2015)