aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    Leadership - GRAND

    Steering Committee


    Emma Meagher, MD 
    Senior Vice Dean, Clinical and Translational Research, Perelman School of Medicine
    Vice President, Research, University of Pennsylvania Health System
    Senior Associate Vice Provost


    Ann B. Nattinger, MD, MPH, MACP
    Associate Provost for Research
    Senior Associate Dean for Research, School of Medicine
    Professor of Medicine
    Lady Riders Professor of Breast Cancer Research
    Medical College of Wisconsin

    Immediate Past Chair

    Etty (Tika) Benveniste, PhD 
    Senior Vice Dean for Research (HSOM)
    Associate Vice President for Medicine and Basic Sciences
    Charlene A. Jones Endowed Chair in Neuroimmunology
    Professor, Department of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology
    Co-Director, UAB Multiple Sclerosis Center
    Associate Director, Basic Science Research - O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center
    University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB)

    Members at Large

    Howard Fox, MD, PhD
    Senior Associate Dean of Research
    Development Professor
    Executive Vice Chair, Pharmacology
    University of Nebraska College of Medicine

    Andrea Guiffrida, PhD, MBA
    Senior Vice President for Research & Biotechnology
    Professor of Pharmacology
    Western University of Health Sciences

    Mary Heinricher
    Associate Dean, SoM Research
    Oregon Health & Science University School of Medicine

    Madhavi Kadakia, PhD
    Vice Provost for Research and Innovation, Research and Sponsored Programs
    Wright State University School of Medicine

    Connie M. Lee PhD
    Associate Dean for Basic Science
    University of Chicago

    VJ Periyakoil, MD
    Professor of Medicine
    Associate Dean of Research
    Director, Stanford AGE Research Center
    Director, Palliative Care Education and Training
    Stanford University

    Anil Shanker, PhD
    Senior Vice President for Research and Innovation
    Professor of Biochemistry, Cancer Biology, Neuroscience, and Pharmacology
    Meharry Medical College

    Meharvan (Sonny) Singh, PhD
    Vice Provost for Research
    Professor, Department of Cell and Molecular Physiology
    Stritch School of Medicine
    Loyola University of Chicago

    Andrew Tayor, PhD
    Associate Dean for Research
    Professor & Vice-Chair for Research, Department of Ophthalmology
    Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine

    Sheila Vrana, PhD
    Associate Dean for Research
    Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine

    Jason Wertheim, MD, PhD
    Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
    University of Arizona College of Medicine

    Theodore (Ted) Wun, MD, FACP
    Professor of Medicine
    Chief- Division of Hematology and Oncology
    Associate Dean for Research
    UC Davis School of Medicine