aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    Leadership - GIA

    National Officers 2023-2024

    Officers are elected each in the spring, typically at the annual AAMC Conference for Institutional Advancement business meeting and serve until the end of the next spring conference.

    Chair

    Amanda J. Bassett
    Director of Development, Alumni Affairs & Giving
    Yale School of Medicine
    Amanda.Bassett@yale.edu

    Chair-Elect

    Daniel C. Pollay, Jr.
    Executive Director, Government & Community Relations
    Weill Cornell Medicine
    dcp2003@med.cornell.edu

    Immediate Past Chair

    Vincent A. Rhodes, Ph.D., APR
    Chief Communications and Marketing Officer
    Associate Vice President, Marketing and Communications
    Eastern Virginia Medical School
    rhodesva@evms.edu

    Vice Chair, Alumni Relations, and Development

    Catherine Mello 
    Alumni Director
    University of Nebraska Medical Center
    catherine.mello@unmc.edu

    Vice Chair, Communications, Marketing, and Public Affairs 

    Claire Bassett 
    Chief Communications Officer
    Baylor College of Medicine
    claire.bassett@bcm.edu

    2023-2024 Awards for Excellence Chair

    The Awards for Excellence (AFE) Chair is an annually appointed position and oversees the GIA AFE Program.

    Awards Chair

    Thomas F. White
    Executive Director, The Fund for Penn Medicine
    Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
    tfwhite@upenn.edu

    2023-2024 Discipline Chairs

    Four Discipline Chairs are appointed annually and represent the five GIA disciplines:

    Alumni Relations Chair

    Mark Kemball
    Senior Director, Alumni Engagement
    Oregon Health & Science University
    kemballm@ohsu.edu

    Communications and Public Affairs Chair

    Patrice Guilfoyle, APR
    Director of Communications, Office of Communications and Marketing 
    University of Mississippi Medical Center
    pguilfoyle@umc.edu

    Development Chair

    Michelle Oster
    Associate Vice President and Managing Director
    Wisconsin Medicine Advancement Group 
    Wisconsin Foundation and Alumni Association
    University of Wisconsin School of Medicine 
    and Public Health
    Michelle.Oster@supportuw.org

    Marketing Chair

    Emsley Vázquez-Colón 
    VP of Strategic Marketing and Communications 
    Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine
    evazquez@psm.edu

    2023-2024 Discipline Representatives

    Discipline Representatives are appointed annually and represent the five GIA disciplines:

    Alumni Relations Representative

    Jayme Crawford
    Alumni and Collegiate Relations Manager 
    University of Iowa Health Care 
    jayme-crawford@uiowa.edu

    Communications Representative

    Amy Albo
    Publisher & Director, Marketing and Communications
    University of Utah Health
    amy.albo@hsc.utah.edu

    Development Representatives

    Shashea Adams-Guess
    Associate Vice President, Advancement Strategy and Operations
    Office of Institutional Advancement
    UT Southwestern Medical Center 
    Shashea.Adams@UTSouthwestern.edu

    Adam Scally
    Director of Major Gifts 
    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital

    ads2010@nyp.org

    Marketing Representative

    James A. Molnar
    Supervisor, Web and Digital Media
    College of Medicine and Life Sciences
    The University of Toledo
    james.molnar@utoledo.edu

    Public Affairs Representative 

    Vladimir Oge, MPH
    Director, Strategic Initiatives
    Office of Strategic Initiatives
    University of California, Riverside School of Medicine
    vladimir.oge@medsch.ucr.edu

    Discipline Advisory Groups