aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    Leadership - GIA

    National Officers 2023-2024

    Officers are elected each in the spring, typically at the annual AAMC Conference for Institutional Advancement business meeting and serve until the end of the next spring conference.


    Amanda J. Bassett
    Director of Development, Alumni Affairs & Giving
    Yale School of Medicine


    Daniel C. Pollay, Jr.
    Executive Director, Government & Community Relations
    Weill Cornell Medicine

    Immediate Past Chair

    Vincent A. Rhodes, Ph.D., APR
    Chief Communications and Marketing Officer
    Associate Vice President, Marketing and Communications
    Eastern Virginia Medical School

    Vice Chair, Alumni Relations, and Development

    Catherine Mello 
    Alumni Director
    University of Nebraska Medical Center

    Vice Chair, Communications, Marketing, and Public Affairs 

    Claire Bassett 
    Chief Communications Officer
    Baylor College of Medicine

    2023-2024 Awards for Excellence Chair

    The Awards for Excellence (AFE) Chair is an annually appointed position and oversees the GIA AFE Program.

    Awards Chair

    Thomas F. White
    Executive Director, The Fund for Penn Medicine
    Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

    2023-2024 Discipline Chairs

    Four Discipline Chairs are appointed annually and represent the five GIA disciplines:

    Alumni Relations Chair

    Mark Kemball
    Senior Director, Alumni Engagement
    Oregon Health & Science University

    Communications and Public Affairs Chair

    Patrice Guilfoyle, APR
    Director of Communications, Office of Communications and Marketing 
    University of Mississippi Medical Center

    Development Chair

    Michelle Oster
    Associate Vice President and Managing Director
    Wisconsin Medicine Advancement Group 
    Wisconsin Foundation and Alumni Association
    University of Wisconsin School of Medicine 
    and Public Health

    Marketing Chair

    Emsley Vázquez-Colón 
    VP of Strategic Marketing and Communications 
    Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine

    2023-2024 Discipline Representatives

    Discipline Representatives are appointed annually and represent the five GIA disciplines:

    Alumni Relations Representative

    Jayme Crawford
    Alumni and Collegiate Relations Manager 
    University of Iowa Health Care 

    Communications Representative

    Amy Albo
    Publisher & Director, Marketing and Communications
    University of Utah Health

    Development Representatives

    Shashea Adams-Guess
    Associate Vice President, Advancement Strategy and Operations
    Office of Institutional Advancement
    UT Southwestern Medical Center 

    Adam Scally
    Director of Major Gifts 
    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital


    Marketing Representative

    James A. Molnar
    Supervisor, Web and Digital Media
    College of Medicine and Life Sciences
    The University of Toledo

    Public Affairs Representative 

    Vladimir Oge, MPH
    Director, Strategic Initiatives
    Office of Strategic Initiatives
    University of California, Riverside School of Medicine

    Discipline Advisory Groups