aamc.org does not support this web browser.
  • Washington Highlights

    GAO Announces MedPAC Appointments

    Mary Mullaney, Director, Hospital Payment Policies

    The Government Accountability Office (GAO) announced on May 21 new members and reappointments of current members to the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC). 

    MedPAC is a nonpartisan legislative branch agency established in 1997 that provides Congress with analysis and policy advice on payments to providers participating in Medicare’s fee-for-service programs and to health plans in the Medicare Advantage Program.

    Michael Chernew, PhD, is returning to MedPAC as chairman following a previous appointment as commissioner from 2008-2014. Dr. Chernew is the Leonard D. Schaeffer professor of health care policy in the Department of Health Care Policy at Harvard Medical School in Boston, Massachusetts. Reappointed members are David Grabowski, PhD, and Dana Gelb Safran, ScD.

    New commissioners include Wayne Riley, MD, MPH, MBA, president and professor of internal medicine and health policy and management at the State University of New York Downstate Health Sciences University in Brooklyn; and Betty Rambur, PhD, RN, Routhier endowed chair for practice and professor of nursing at the College of Nursing at the University of Rhode Island in Kingston.

    The terms will expire in April 2023.

    Commissioners whose terms are expiring are Chairman Francis Crosson, MD, and members Kathy Buto and Warner Thomas.