Skip to Content

Association of American Medical Colleges

woman in scrubs with stethoscope and books

Pre-Med Event Request

Premed Speaker

Request a speaker or materials from AAMC Pre-Med.


You are eligible for the Fee Assistance Program only if you are a U.S. citizen, U.S. National, a lawful permanent resident (LPR) of the United States ("Green Card" holder), or have been granted refugee/asylum or Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) status by the U.S. government.

Fee Assistance Program award approval is tied directly to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' poverty level guidelines. In 2015, you will be granted fee assistance if each household reported on your application has a 2014 total family income that is 300 percent or less than the 2014 national poverty level for that family size.

Other Eligibility Requirements

Parental Information

The Fee Assistance Program, unlike some federally funded programs, does not draw distinctions based on your dependent or independent status for tax purposes, therefore, parental financial information and supporting tax documentation are required. Parental information is viewed independently from applicant data, but must also fall within eligibility guidelines. This requirement cannot be waived on the basis of your marital status, age, or tax filing status.

Award Limits

You may be awarded fee assistance a maximum of five (5) times during your lifetime. This restriction enables other examinees and applicants to also benefit from this program.


Each award includes Medical School Admission Requirements website, MCAT, and AMCAS benefits. Your benefits will expire on December 31 of the calendar year after you receive your award, regardless of when in the year your application was approved.

If you apply and receive fee assistance during two consecutive calendar years, any unused benefits from your first award will expire as soon as your new award is approved.

Fee assistance benefits are never retroactive.

Thinking About Applying?

MSAR Getting Started cover

"The Official Guide to Medical School Admissions" can help you get ready to apply to medical school.

Preview  |