aamc.org does not support this web browser.
  • Affinity Group

    Leadership - GWIMS

    Steering Committee

    The GWIMS steering committee's primary functions are to plan and participate in the GWIMS Annual Meeting program, to address the needs of GWIMS members in terms of projects and products related to its mission, and to recommend AAMC policy and program directions relative to women in medicine.


    Toi B. Harris, MD
    Senior Vice President & Chief Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Officer
    Memorial Hermann Health System
    Professor of Psychiatry, Baylor College of Medicine


    Amy S. Gottlieb, MD, FACP
    Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
    Professor of Medicine and Obstetrics & Gynecology
    University of Massachusetts Medical School – Baystate

    Past Chair

    Linda Chaudron, MD, MS
    Vice President and RG Bing-You Chair for Medical Education
    Maine Medical Center
    Visiting Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Tufts School of Medicine

    Members at Large

    Linda Barry, MD, MPH, FACS
    Associate Professor of Surgery
    Director, Office of Multicultural and Community Affairs
    Director, Visiting Externship for Underrepresented Students in Medicine (VESUM)
    University of Connecticut School of Medicine

    Kimberly Bibb, MD
    Assistant Professor, School of Medicine
    University of Mississippi Medical Center

    John Cullen, PhD
    Director of Diversity & Inclusion
    Clinical & Translational Science Institute
    University of Rochester Medical Center

    Elizabeth (Libby) Ellinas, MD
    Associate Dean for Women's Leadership
    Director, Center for the Advancement of Women in Science and Medicine
    Medical College of Wisconsin

    Sonya Jacobs, MS
    Chief Organizational Learning Officer 
    Senior Director, Faculty Development
    University of Michigan Medical School

    Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH, MACP
    Vice Chair of Medical Oncology and Chief of Cancer Services 
    Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University

    Kenya McNeal-Trice, MD
    Associate Professor of Pediatrics
    University of North Carolina School of Medicine

    Carolyn Meltzer, MD, FACR
    Executive Associate Dean of Faculty Academic Achievement, Leadership, and Inclusion
    William P. Timmie Professor and Chair, Department of Radiology
    Emory University School of Medicine

    Tamara Nowling, PhD
    Vice Chair, Women Scholars Initiative
    Associate Professor of Medicine
    Medical University of South Carolina

    Helen Yin, PhD
    Associate Dean, Office of Women's Careers Professor of Physiology
    University of Texas Southwestern Medical School

    AAMC Group Liaisons

    COD Liaison
    Archana Chatterjee, MD, PhD
    Dean, Chicago Medical School
    Vice President for Medical Affairs

    OSR Liaison
    Gaelen Dwyer
    University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

    Steering Committee Voting Period

    Voting by electronic ballot will begin in mid-July/August. All candidates will receive notice from GWIMS staff regarding their placement on the ballot. Upon closing of the election ballot, all candidates will hear from the GWIMS staff regarding their election to the Steering Committee the week following.

    Voting is available to GWIMS members. All members vote on the nominees for Steering Committee Member-At-Large candidates. The Chair-Elect for the GWIMS Steering Committee is voted upon by the Steering Committee.