New section

Content Background

New section

GSA Committee on Student Diversity Affairs (COSDA)

New section

New section


The GSA National Committee on Student Diversity Affairs, formerly the Committee on Diversity Affairs (CODA), provides guidance on medical student diversity on a local, regional, and national basis, with respect to student recruitment, admissions, enrollment, retention, and graduation.

Member Resources

(Sign In Required for Some Resources)

AAMC Resources

Related Organizations


COSDA Committee Roster

Ann-Gel S. Palermo, MPH, DrPH (November 2018 – November 2021)
Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion in Biomedical Education
Associate Professor of Medical Education and Pediatrics
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Previous Past Chair
Donna Elliott, MD, MSEd, EdD (November 2019-November 2020)
Vice Dean for Medical Education
Chair, Department of Medical Education
Professor of Pediatrics and Medical Education
Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California

Committee on Admissions (COA) Representative
Marlene Ballejos, PhD (February 2018 – November 2020)
Vice-Chair for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Associate Professor, Family, and Community Medicine
Assistant Dean for Admissions
The University of New Mexico School of Medicine

Committee on Student Affairs (COSA) Representative
Natalie G. Johnson, MA (November 2019-November 2022)
Associate Dean for Diversity Affairs
College of Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina

Representative to Committee on Student Financial Assistance (COSFA)
Donna H. Jackson, EdD (November 2019-November 2022)
Assistant Dean for Admissions
Director, Student Outreach Programs
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicin

Representative to Committee on Student Records (COSR)
Sandra Mingo (May 2018 – November 2021)
COM & Visiting Student Coordinator
AOA Administrator
State University of New York Downstate Medical Center College of Medicine

Central Region (CGSA) Representative
C. Alexander Grieco, MD (November 2017 – November 2020)
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Education and Anatomy
Assistant Professor of Radiology
Special Assistant to the Vice Dean of Education
The Ohio State University College of Medicine

Northeastern Region (NEGSA) Representative
Sandra Quezada, MD, MS (November 2018 - November 2021)
Associate Dean for Admissions
Assistant Dean for Academic and Multicultural Affairs
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Southern Region (SGSA) Representative
Linda Strong James, MS (November 2017 – November 2020)
Assistant Dean for Student Diversity and Inclusion
Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University

Western Region (WGSA) Representative
Cherie A. Singer, PhD (November 2018 – November 2021)
Associate Dean for Admissions and Student Affairs
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
University of Nevada Reno School of Medicine

Association of American Indian Physicians (AAIP) Liaison
Nicole Stern, MD, FACP (June 2018 – November 2021)
Sansum Clinic Urgent Care

Hispanic-Serving Health Professions Schools (HSHPS) Liaison
Norma Perez, MD, DrPH (June 2018 – November 2021)
Director, UTMB Hispanic Center of Excellence and Special Program
University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine

National Association of Advisors for the Health Professions (NAAHP) Liaison
Nika Daryooni (September 2020 – November 2021)
Manager, Graduation & Data
Office of Academic Assistance
College of Arts & Sciences
Georgia State University

Representative on the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME) Advisory Committee for Medical School Programs
Princess Currence, DSW, MSW (June 2019 – June 2022)
Director, Curriculum & Education
Rush Medical College

Organization of Student Representatives (OSR) Liaison
Ushasi Naha (November 2019 – November 2020)
MD Candidate
University of Illinois College of Medicine

New section

New section