New section

Content Background

New section

2019 Group on Women in Medicine and Science Leadership Award Winners

New section

New section

Leadership Award for an Individual

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, is the Newman Family Professor of Radiation Oncology, deputy chair in the Department of Radiation Oncology, and director of the Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine at the University of Michigan Medical School. Dr. Jagsi is recognized for publishing groundbreaking research in gender equity in academic medicine — the key area of her scholarly work and leadership. Author of over 250 articles in peer-reviewed journals, including multiple high-impact studies in the New England Journal of Medicine and JAMA, her research to promote gender equity has been funded by an R01 grant from the National Institutes of Health as well as large independent grants from the Doris Duke Foundation and several other philanthropic foundations. Dr. Jagsi is committed to gender equity and faculty wellness at the University of Michigan, where she co-chairs a task force on wellness and learning environment.

Emerging Leadership Award for an Individual

Jennifer L. Hunt, MD, MEd, FCAP

Jennifer L. Hunt, MD, MEd, FCAP, is chair of pathology and Aubrey J. Hough Endowed Professor of Pathology at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Medicine. One of Dr. Hunt’s passions is increasing the number of women in leadership roles in health care. Dr. Hunt is a certified executive leadership coach and uses this training to work with current and emerging women physician leaders both at UAMS and nationally as they embark on stretch opportunities. In her roles as an academic chair and hospital executive, as well as in her training program and coaching practice, Dr. Hunt focuses on helping people with practical tools, skills, and strategies to enhance self-empowerment and self-appreciation.

Leadership Award for an Organization


Rush University Office of Faculty Affairs and Mentoring Programs

The Offices of Faculty Affairs and Mentoring Programs at Rush University Medical Center began its first structured program in 2010 and most recently implemented the Rush Women Mentoring Program to help women faculty pursue their career goals in a supportive environment. Under the leadership of Giselle Sandi, PhD, and Susan Chubinskaya, PhD, the Rush University Faculty Affairs Mentoring Program provides a comprehensive approach to supporting women faculty career successes; rather than centralizing these effort in one program, the entire office builds initiatives to reach this goal. The programs are unique in being university-wide initiatives, and all types of women faculty benefit from the office’s mentoring programs.

Emerging Leadership Award for an Organization

University of Mississippi Medical Center’s Group on Women in Medicine and Science

The University of Mississippi Medical Center’s Group on Women in Medicine and Science (UMMC GWIMS) was established in 2013 and has created significant programming and networking opportunities, including a professional development series of seminars and workshops, biannual membership drives, and recognitions of women’s achievements. Over the last six years, the center has been committed to the four GWIMS goals of addressing gender equity, recruitment and retention, awards and recognition, and career advancement. They also have recognized UMMC faculty, students, and trainees annually for their significant accomplishments in leadership, mentorship, education, research, and service and have implemented and sustained monthly educational seminars for students and trainees to provide guidance on mentoring, interview preparation, burnout prevention, and other topics.

View past winners

New section

New section