aamc.org does not support this web browser. Learn more about the browsers we support.

New section

Content Background

New section

Steering Committee - GFA

New section

New section

The Group on Faculty Affairs Steering Committee is responsible for the leadership and management of GFA affairs and for approving all committee appointments. The Committee consists of three officers (Chair, Chair-Elect, and Immediate Past Chair) and seven at-large members. In addition, liaisons may be appointed from other AAMC Groups and Councils with approval of the Steering Committee. The Steering Committee meets twice a year and convenes monthly for conference calls. 

The Chair presides over all GFA and Steering Committee meetings, appoints committee chairs, and performs necessary duties and functions in order to provide appropriate leadership to the GFA. In the absence of the Chair, the Chair-Elect shall fulfill the functions of the Chair. 

Committee Member Roles and Expectations 


Elza Mylona, MD, MBA 
Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Institutional Effectiveness
Professor of Medicine
Eastern Virginia Medical School

Chair-Elect and Communications Committee Chair

Lisa D. Cain, PhD
Adjunct Professor, Neurobiology and Anatomy, McGovern Medical School
Professor, Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences, School of Dentistry
Associate Dean for Professional Development and Faculty Affairs, School of Dentistry
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Past Chair and Nominating Committee Chair

Jeffrey Lyness, MD 
Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
Professor, Psychiatry and Neurology
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry

AAMC Director

Juan Amador, CAE  
Director, Constituent Engagement
Association of American Medical Colleges

Professional Development Committee Chair

Sheila Crow, PhD
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs & Professional Development
University of Oklahoma College of Medicine

Program Planning Committee Chair

Kimara Ellefson
National Director for Partnerships, Kern National Network for Caring and Character in Medicine
Medical College of Wisconsin

Research & Scholarship Committee Chair

Guadalupe (Lu) Federico, PhD
Assistant Dean, Faculty Affairs and Development
Associate Professor, Internal Medicine

University of Arizona College of Medicine


Jennifer Apps, PhD
Associate Professor, Psych. & Behavioral Med.
Assistant Provost of Faculty Affairs
Medical College of Wisconsin

Johnson George, MBA, PMP, CAHIMS
Executive Director, Administration & Faculty Affairs
UTHSC - McGovern Medical School

Jacqueline Hill, PhD, MPH, CHES
Director, Office of Faculty Development
Children’s Mercy Hospital Kansas City

Michael Rowland, PhD
Associate Dean, Faculty & Professional Development

University of Kentucky College of Medicine

COD Liaison

Deborah C. German, MD
Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

CFAS Liaison

Aviad “Adi” Haramati, PhD
Professor of Integrative Physiology in the Departments of Biochemistry, Molecular and Cellular Biology, and Medicine (Nephrology)
Georgetown University Medical Center

New section

New section