aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    M. Brownell Anderson Award

    In the spirit of M. Brownell “Brownie” Anderson, the GEA wishes to recognize early-career medical educators who have demonstrated enthusiasm, commitment, and creativity in the field of medical education across the continuum. This award identifies and supports emerging educators on their career trajectory in medical education and serves as an opportunity to celebrate their potential and talent.

    Eligibility Criteria

    Nominees must:

    • Have no more than 5 years’ experience in the field of medical education
    • Hold academic rank no higher than assistant professor
    • Hold a faculty appointment with an AAMC member institution or be affiliated with an AAMC member society
    • Has not held an elected position to a GEA national, regional, or section committee in the past two years

    Selection Criteria

    Nominees will be considered for award based on their demonstrated commitment to teaching excellence and advancement and/or commitment to scholarly excellence and advancement.

    Nomination materials should describe many of the following descriptors.

    Respected as a teacher, scholar, and researcher by peers, senior-staff, and students; demonstrated by:

    • Passion for education
    • Enthusiasm
    • Engagement in the community of medical educators
    • Creativity
    • Timely (work from the last 3 – 5 years will be considered)

    Nominees will likely have demonstrated one or more:

    • Scholarly submissions
    • GEA workshops and other sessions at regional and annual meetings
    • Innovative approaches
    • Novel ideas
    • Simplicity

    Nomination Process

    Address letters of nomination to Nagaraj Gabbur, MD Chair of the GEA. Letters should be no more than two pages, 12-point font with one-inch margins. Include “M. Brownell Anderson Award Nomination” as the message line of the email.

    Nominations will be solicited through each of the four GEA Regions (CGEA, NEGEA, SGEA and WGEA). Each region will select a regional awardee. From this pool of regional awardees, the GEA Steering Committee will select an outstanding upcoming educator to recognize nationally.


    This group proposes that regional awardees receive a complimentary registration to the next regional meeting, where they will be presented with the award. The individual selected for the national award will, in addition to regional registration and recognition, receive a complimentary registration to Learn Serve Lead: The AAMC Annual Meeting, where they will also be recognized.


    Submit letters of nominations and nominee curriculum vitae to GEA@aamc.org by Nov. 30, 2021 at 11:59 pm PT. Self-nominations will be accepted.