aamc.org does not support this web browser. Learn more about the browsers we support.

New section

Content Background

New section

Leadership - CFAS

New section

New section

Governance and Committee Structures

The council’s activities are led by a 15-member administrative board. Ad Board candidates self-nominate, are evaluated by the Nominating and Engagement Committee, and are confirmed by a vote of the CFAS membership at every other CFAS Spring Meeting.

All CFAS representatives are welcome to join our committees to help translate the mission and values of CFAS into action.

Administrative Board, 2020-2021

The CFAS Administrative Board (ad board) consists of 15 members, including the chair, chair-elect and immediate past chair, and 12 society and medical school representatives selected by their fellow CFAS reps. The ad board develops programs and initiatives for the full council and acts on its behalf with regard to AAMC business and policy initiatives.

Chair: Gabriela K. Popescu, PhD
Professor of Biochemistry; Anesthesiology; Neuroscience
Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University of Buffalo

Chair-Elect: Aviad “Adi” Haramati, PhD
Professor of Integrative Physiology in the Departments of Biochemistry, Molecular and Cellular Biology, and Medicine (Nephrology)
Georgetown University Medical Center

Immediate Past Chair: Scott D. Gitlin, MD
American Society of Hematology
Professor of Hematology and Oncology
University of Michigan Medical School

Administrative Board Members

Adam Franks, MD
Professor and Associate Residency Director of Family Medicine
Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine

Arthur Derse, MD, JD
American Society for Bioethics and Humanities
Director, Center for Bioethics and Medical Humanities
Medical College of Wisconsin

Serina Neumann, PhD
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Eastern Virginia Medical School

Vera Donnenberg, PhD
Associate Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Catherine Florio Pipas, MD
Professor, Department of Community and Family Medicine
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM)

Alan W. Dow, III, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine

Stewart Babbott, MD
Professor, General Medicine, Geriatrics and Palliative Care
University of Virginia School of Medicine

Steven Angus, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Designated Institutional Official
UConn Health

Nita Ahuja, MD
Chair, Dept. of Surgery
Yale School of Medicine

VJ Periyakoil, MD
American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine
Director, Palliative Care Education and Training
Stanford University School of Medicine

Deanna Sasaki-Adams, MD
Associate Professor, Section Chief of Cerebrovascular and Skull Base Neurosurgery
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine

Neil Osheroff, PhD
John G. Coniglio Chair in Biochemistry, Professor of Biochemistry and Medicine
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Shirley “Lee” Eisner, PhD
Associate Professor of Cell Biology
State University of New York Downstate Medical Center College of Medicine

Richard L. Eckert, PhD
Association of Medical and Graduate Departments of Biochemistry
Professor and Chair, Dept. of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Ex-Officio Member: Group on Faculty Affairs (GFA) Chair
Elza Mylona, PhD

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development and Professor of Medicine
Eastern Virginia Medical School

New section

New section