Skip to Content

Filter by:

RSS icon

AAMC Announces New Board of Directors

Dean of Emory University School of Medicine Named as Chair

Washington, D.C., November 19, 2010—The AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges) today announced its new board of directors.  The board’s term will run until November 2011. Thomas J. Lawley, M.D., dean and William P. Timmie professor of dermatology at Emory University School of Medicine, is the AAMC’s new chair.  He succeeds Deborah E. Powell, M.D., associate vice president for new models of medical education and dean emeritus of the University of Minnesota Medical School.  Mark R. Laret, chief executive officer of the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) Medical Center was named chair-elect and will succeed Dr. Lawley next year.

In addition to the chair and chair-elect, the association’s board includes the AAMC president and CEO, immediate past chair, and chairs and chairs-elect of the association’s three member councils—the Council of Deans, the Council of Teaching Hospitals and Health Systems, and the Council of Academic Societies.  In addition, the panel has seven at-large members, including a medical student, a resident physician, and one “public member” not affiliated with the AAMC, a medical school, or a teaching hospital.

Dr. Lawley became dean of the school of medicine at Emory University in September 1996.  An internationally known expert in autoimmune skin diseases, he joined the school of medicine in 1988 to become chair of the department of dermatology where, under his leadership, the faculty grew from three to 18.  His research interests include the cell biology of endothelial cells and the regulation of cell adhesion molecules and inflammation.  He has published over 150 original articles and chapters.  As dean, he has increased the school’s research funding sponsored by the National Institutes of Health and other sources nearly five-fold to more than $386 million per year and implemented strategic plans for research and teaching.  Dr. Lawley also is president of the Emory Medical Care Foundation and sits on the board of directors of the Emory Clinic and Emory Healthcare.  He is a former chair of both the AAMC Council of Deans and co-chair of the board of directors of the Liaison Committee for Medical Education.

Mark R. Laret is the chief executive officer of the UCSF Medical Center and the UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital.  A 30-year veteran of health care management and a national leader in health care initiatives and reform, Mr. Laret has served in his position since 2000.  During this time, he reversed a $60 million annual loss to a $70 million annual gain that allowed the medical center to expand and update its facilities and equipment and make advances in the quality of care, patient safety, and patient satisfaction.  He is currently leading a campaign to raise $600 million in philanthropic donations to build a new UCSF Medical Center at Mission Bay, which will include hospitals for children, women, and cancer.  A past chair of the AAMC Council of Teaching Hospitals and Health Systems, Mr. Laret also has served on the board of directors of the University HealthSystem Consortium and Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. 

2010-2011 AAMC Board of Directors:

Thomas J. Lawley, M.D., dean and William P. Timmie professor of dermatology, Emory University School of Medicine

Mark R. Laret, chief executive officer, University of California, San Francisco Medical Center

Immediate Past Chair:
Deborah E. Powell, M.D., associate vice president for new models of medical education and dean emeritus, University of Minnesota Medical School

President and CEO:
Darrell G. Kirch, M.D., AAMC

Marna Borgstrom, M.P.H., president and chief executive officer, Yale-New Haven Health System

Sheila Burke, R.N., M.P.A., adjunct lecturer, Harvard University John F. Kennedy School of Government

James M. Crawford, M.D., Ph.D., senior vice president for laboratory services and chair of the department of pathology and laboratory medicine, North Shore-Long Island Jewish Health System

J. Lloyd Michener, M.D., chair, department of community and family medicine, Duke University Medical Center

Kathleen G. Nelson, M.D., professor of pediatrics, senior associate dean for faculty development, University of Alabama School of Medicine

Lois Margaret Nora, M.D., J.D., M.B.A., professor, internal medicine and behavioral and community health sciences, and president emeritus and dean emeritus, Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine

Philip A. Pizzo, M.D., dean, Stanford University School of Medicine

Claire Pomeroy, M.D., M.B.A., chief executive officer, UC Davis Health System, vice chancellor for human health sciences, and dean of the School of Medicine, University of California, Davis

Diane C. Reis, M.D., Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Peter L. Slavin, M.D., president, Massachusetts General Hospital

Javeed Sukhera, M.D., University of Rochester Medical Center

Valerie N. Williams, Ph.D., M.P.A., vice provost for academic affairs and faculty development, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center


The Association of American Medical Colleges is a not-for-profit association representing all 145 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; nearly 400 major teaching hospitals and health systems, including 51 Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers; and nearly 90 academic and scientific societies. Through these institutions and organizations, the AAMC represents 148,000 faculty members, 83,000 medical students, and 115,000 resident physicians. Additional information about the AAMC and U.S. medical schools and teaching hospitals is available at


Lesley Ward
Senior Media Relations Specialist
Telephone: 202-828-0655