Skip to Content


Looking for Member-only Content?

opened lock

Sign in to www.aamc.org.

Or sign in from anywhere on the site by going to the upper right corner of your screen.


AAMC Mailing Lists

stamp on an envelope

AAMC mailing lists are available for sharing valuable information and resources with our member institutions and constituents.

GIA Leadership

National Officers 2018-2019

Officers are elected annually at the AAMC National Professional Development Conference for Institutional Advancement in the spring, and the position runs through to the next National Professional Development Conference. They are available to serve as a resource on academic medicine issues upon request by the GIA members.

Read about the roles and responsibilities of the steering committee  or view the organizational chart 

Chair
Michael Knecht
Senior Vice President, Strategic Marketing & Communications
RWJBarnabas Health
michael.knecht@rwjuh.edu

Chair-Elect
Karen Peterson
Director, Medical Alumni Association
Assistant Dean, External Relations
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
karen.peterson@wisc.edu

Vice Chair, Alumni Relations and Development
Eileen Murphy
Executive Director of University Development
University of California, San Francisco
eileen.murphy@ucsf.edu

Vice Chair, Communications, Marketing, and Public Affairs
Lisa Worley
Assistant Vice President, Medical Communications
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine Uhealth, the University of Miami Health System
lworley2@med.miami.edu

Immediate Past Chair
J. Christopher Smith
Associate Vice Chancellor, Health Advancement
University of California, Irvine, School of Medicine
jcs@uci.edu

AAMC:
Juan Amador, CAE
Director, Constituent Engagement
jamador@aamc.org

2018-2019 Discipline Chairs

Discipline Chairs are elected at the National Professional Development Conference (NPDC) in the spring, and serve their term until the next NPDC. Four discipline chairs are elected representing each of the five GIA disciplines: alumni affairs, communications, development, marketing, and public affairs. Please feel free to contact them with suggestions on speakers and topics to be presented at both the Annual Meeting (held in the fall), and the National Professional Development Conference (held in the spring), or volunteer your services as a Discipline Representative.

Awards Chair
Kathy Dean
Associate Vice President, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer
University of Iowa Health Care
kathy-dean@uiowa.edu

Alumni Relations Chair
Chandra Tuggle-Wilson
Senior Director of Alumni Programs
University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Medicine
ctuggle@uthsc.edu

Communications and Public Affairs Chair
Vincent Rhodes, PhD, APR
Chief Communications & Marketing Officer
Eastern Virginia Medical School
rhodesva@evms.edu

Development Chair
Lance Burchett
Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
lance@uams.edu

Marketing Chair
Allison Otu
Senior Director, Marketing and Communications
University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix
allisonotu@email.arizona.edu

2018-2019 Discipline Representatives

Discipline Representatives are selected by the Discipline Chairs to assist with planning the Annual Meeting and the National Professional Development Conference. They serve one year term beginning at the spring NPDC until the next NPDC.

Alumni Relations Representative
Amanda Bassett
Director of Advancement and Alumni Relations
Director, Office for Community Faculty
University of New Mexico School of Medicine
ABassett@salud.unm.edu

Communications Representative
Karen Dooley
Director of Communications
University of Florida College of Medicine
dooleyk@ufl.edu

Development Representatives
Richard Kelley
Senior Director of Development
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
kelley@oakland.edu

Lisa Aaronson
Associate Vice President, Donor Relations
Rush University Medical Center
lisa_aaronson@rush.edu   

Marketing Representative
Aaron Lovell
Associate Director of Marketing
University of Utah Health
Aaron.Lovell@hsc.utah.edu

Public Affairs Representative
Daniel C. Pollay, Jr.
Director of Government and Community Affairs
Weill Cornell Medicine
dcp2003@med.cornell.edu

GIA Conference Advisory Groups

Interested in helping the GIA Steering Committee plan for the 2019 National Professional Development Conference? Join a Conference Advisory Group! Email your corresponding discipline chair for more details.

Read about the roles and responsibilities  of the GIA Conference Advisory Group Members.

GIA 2018-2019 Conference Advisory Group Rosters:

GIA Development Conference Advisory Group

GIA Communications Conference Advisory Group

GIA Marketing Conference Advisory Group

GIA Alumni Conference Advisory Group

GIA Public Affairs Conference Advisory Group

GIA Membership

Information about GIA membership benefits.



Related Topics


CareerConnect

CareerConnect

The AAMC’s online job board for employers and job seekers in academic medicine