Skip to Content


Looking for Member-only Content?

opened lock

Sign in to www.aamc.org.

Or sign in from anywhere on the site by going to the upper right corner of your screen.


AAMC Mailing Lists

stamp on an envelope

AAMC mailing lists are available for sharing valuable information and resources with our member institutions and constituents.

GIA Leadership

National Officers 2017-2018

Officers are elected annually at the AAMC National Professional Development Conference for Institutional Advancement in the spring, and the position runs through to the next National Professional Development Conference. They are available to serve as a resource on academic medicine issues upon request by the GIA members.

Read about the roles and responsibilities of the steering committee  or view the organizational chart 

Chair
J. Christopher Smith
Associate Vice Chancellor, Health Advancement
University of California, Irvine, School of Medicine
jcs@uci.edu

Chair-Elect
Michael Knecht
Senior Vice President, Strategic Marketing & Communications
RWJBarnabas Health
michael.knecht@rwjuh.edu

Vice Chair, Alumni Relations and Development
Karen Peterson
Director, Medical Alumni Association
Assistant Dean, External Relations
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
karen.peterson@wisc.edu

Vice Chair, Communications, Marketing, and Public Affairs
Kathy Dean
Associate Vice President, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer
University of Iowa Health Care
kathy-dean@uiowa.edu

Immediate Past Chair
Jerry Kooiman
Assistant Dean for External Relations
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
jerry.kooiman@hc.msu.edu

AAMC:
Juan Amador, CAE
Director, Constituent Engagement
jamador@aamc.org

2017-2018 Discipline Chairs

Discipline Chairs are elected at the National Professional Development Conference (NPDC) in the spring, and serve their term until the next NPDC. Four discipline chairs are elected representing each of the five GIA disciplines: alumni affairs, communications, development, marketing, and public affairs. Please feel free to contact them with suggestions on speakers and topics to be presented at both the Annual Meeting (held in the fall), and the National Professional Development Conference (held in the spring), or volunteer your services as a Discipline Representative.

Awards Chair
Charles (Chip) W. Roberts
Assistant Vice President for Development
University of Central Florida College of Medicine
charles.roberts@ucf.edu

Alumni Relations Chair
Julie Robbs
Director of Alumni Affairs
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
jrobbs@siumed.edu

Communications and Public Affairs Chair
Lisa Worley
Assistant Vice President, Medical Communications
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine Uhealth, the University of Miami Health System
lworley2@med.miami.edu

Development Chair
Eileen Murphy
Executive Director of University Development
University of California, San Francisco
emurphy@support.ucsf.edu

Marketing Chair
Eric Switzer
Associate Vice President, Brand Strategy and Marketing
OHSU
switzere@ohsu.edu

2017-2018 Discipline Representatives

Discipline Representatives are selected by the Discipline Chairs to assist with planning the Annual Meeting and the National Professional Development Conference. They serve one year term beginning at the spring NPDC until the next NPDC.

Alumni Relations Representative
Seth Molloy Flynn
Executive Director, Alumni Relations
Medical College of Wisconsin
sflynn@mcw.edu

Communications Representative
Vincent Rhodes, PhD, APR
Chief Communications & Marketing Officer
Eastern Virginia Medical School
rhodesva@evms.edu

Development Representatives
Richard Kelley
Senior Director of Development
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
kelley@oakland.edu

Lance Burchett
Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
lance@uams.edu

Marketing Representative
Allison Otu
Senior Director, Marketing and Communications
University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix
allisonotu@email.arizona.edu

Public Affairs Representative
Vincent Petrini
Senior Vice President, Public Affairs
Yale-New Haven Hospital
vincent.petrini@ynhh.org

GIA Conference Advisory Groups

Read about the roles and responsibilities  of the GIA Conference Advisory Group Members
GIA Alumni Relations Conference Advisory Group, 2017-2018 Members
GIA Communications, Marketing, and Public Affairs Conference Advisory Group, 2017-2018 Members
GIA Development Conference Advisory Group, 2017-2018 Members

GIA Membership

Information about GIA membership benefits.



Related Topics


CareerConnect

CareerConnect

The AAMC’s online job board for employers and job seekers in academic medicine