Skip to Content


Looking for Member-only Content?

opened lock

Sign in to www.aamc.org.

Or sign in from anywhere on the site by going to the upper right corner of your screen.


AAMC Mailing Lists

stamp on an envelope

AAMC mailing lists are available for sharing valuable information and resources with our member institutions and constituents.

GIA Leadership

National Officers 2019-2020

Officers are elected annually at the AAMC National Professional Development Conference for Institutional Advancement in the spring, and the position runs through to the next National Professional Development Conference. They are available to serve as a resource on academic medicine issues upon request by the GIA members.

Read about the roles and responsibilities of the steering committee  or view the organizational chart 

Chair
Karen Peterson
Director, Medical Alumni Association
Assistant Dean, External Relations
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
karen.peterson@wisc.edu

Chair-Elect
Lisa Worley
Assistant Vice President, Medical Communications
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine Uhealth, the University of Miami Health System
lworley2@med.miami.edu

Immediate Past Chair
Michael Knecht
Senior Vice President, Strategic Marketing & Communications
RWJBarnabas Health
michael.knecht@rwjuh.edu

Vice Chair, Alumni Relations and Development
Charles ‘Chip’ Roberts
Assistant Vice President for Development
University of Central Florida
College of Medicine
Charles.Roberts@ucf.edu

Vice Chair, Communications, Marketing, and Public Affairs
Allison Otu
Senior Director, Marketing and Communications
University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix
allisonotu@email.arizona.edu

AAMC:
Jennifer Blanck
Director, Constituent Engagement: Group on Institutional Advancement
jblack@aamc.org

Sophia Milla
Constituent Engagement Administrative Specialist
smilla@aamc.org

2019-2020 Discipline Chairs

Discipline Chairs are elected at the National Professional Development Conference (NPDC) in the spring and serve their term until the next NPDC. Four discipline chairs are elected representing each of the five GIA disciplines: alumni affairs, communications, development, marketing, and public affairs. Please feel free to contact them with suggestions on speakers and topics to be presented at both the Annual Meeting (held in the fall), and the National Professional Development Conference (held in the spring) or volunteer your services as a Discipline Representative.

Awards Chair
Aaron Lovell
Associate Director of Marketing
University of Utah Health
Aaron.Lovell@hsc.utah.edu

Alumni Relations Chair
Amanda Bassett
Director of Advancement and Alumni Relations
Director, Office for Community Faculty
University of New Mexico School of Medicine
ABassett@salud.unm.edu

Communications and Public Affairs Chair
Daniel C. Pollay, Jr.
Director of Government and Community Affairs
Weill Cornell Medicine
dcp2003@med.cornell.edu

Development Chair
Richard Kelley
Senior Director of Development
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
kelley@oakland.edu

Marketing Chair
Vincent Rhodes, PhD, APR
Assistant Vice President
Marketing & Communications
Eastern Virginia Medical School
rhodesva@evms.edu

2019-2020 Discipline Representatives

Discipline Representatives are selected by the Discipline Chairs to assist with planning the Annual Meeting and the National Professional Development Conference. They serve one-year term beginning at the spring NPDC until the next NPDC.

Alumni Relations Representative
Cynthia Hernandez Otero, M.Ed.
Associate Director
University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine
cynthia.hernandez5@upr.edu

Communications Representative
Carole L. Whitaker
Assistant Dean for Communications
The Robert Larner M.D. College of Medicine at The University of Vermont
carole.whitaker@med.uvm.edu

Development Representatives
Lisa Aaronson
Associate Vice President, Donor Relations
Rush University Medical Center
lisa_aaronson@rush.edu

Sharon White
Director, Leadership Annual Giving
Duke Health Development and Alumni Affairs
sharon.white@duke.edu

Marketing Representative
Gina Czark
Vice President, Branded Content
Marketing and Communications
Northwell Health
gczark@northwell.edu

Public Affairs Representative
Claire Bassett
Vice President
Communications & Community Outreach
Baylor College of Medicine
bassett@bcm.edu

GIA Membership

Information about GIA membership benefits.



Related Topics


CareerConnect

CareerConnect

The AAMC’s online job board for employers and job seekers in academic medicine