Skip to Content

Looking for Member-only Content?

opened lock

Sign in to

Or sign in from anywhere on the site by going to the upper right corner of your screen.

AAMC Mailing Lists

stamp on an envelope

AAMC mailing lists are available for sharing valuable information and resources with our member institutions and constituents.


A panel of 17 AAMC GIA members will review entries and select winners. The Awards Competition Chair will act as facilitator of the judging and, if necessary, as an alternate judge. Judges will score each entry based on the criteria for the category and will provide constructive comments on each entry. Entrants will receive a brief summary of the judges’ comments. The judging panel breakdown is as follows:

One team of three judges will evaluate the following category:

  • Electronic Communications

One team of three judges will evaluate the following category:

  • Robert G. Fenley Writing Awards

One team of five judges and one team of seven judges will review and score entries in all other categories:

  • Print and Digital Publishing
  • Special Events
  • The “Shoestring” Award
  • Special Projects, Programs, or Campaigns

All 17 members of the judging panel will review and evaluate the winner of the Best in Show, if granted.

Roster of Judges

Electronic Communications

Sheila Baldwin
Vice President, Health Sciences Development
University of Iowa Center for Advancement

Michael Buller
Senior Director, Content and Creative Services
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Debra Passner
Executive Director of Academic Marketing and Communications
Baylor College of Medicine

Robert G. Fenley Writing Awards

Maria Ober
Assistant Dean of Communications
Boston University School of Medicine

Anton Zuiker
Communications Director, Department of Medicine
Duke University School of Medicine

Print and Digital Publishing; The "Shoestring" Award

Cynthia Floyd Manley
Director, Content Marketing and Social Engagement
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Krista Giuffi
Director of Alumni Relations
Rush University Medical Center

Patrick Holmes
Associate Director, Strategic Communications

Megan Kimmel
Communications Manager
University of Florida College of Medicine

Gary Mans
Director of Communications and Marketing
University of Louisville Health Sciences Center

Special Projects, Programs, or Campaigns; Special Events; The "Shoestring" Award

Julie Ardito, APR
Senior Director, Advancement and Engagement
University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine

Nathan Chappell, MBA, MNA, CFRE
Senior Vice President, Philanthropy
City of Hope National Medical Center

Gina Czark
Vice President, Content Management
Northwell Health

Melissa Head
Executive Director for Advancement, URMC Academic Programs
University of Rochester Medical Center

Cynthia Hernandez
Associate Director, Development and Alumni
University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine

George Rattin
Executive Director of Development
Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine & Science

Kristin Wann Anderson
Executive Director, SOM Alumni Relations
University of Utah

Interested in Submitting Your Work?

You’ve spent the entire year creating innovative campaigns, writing articles, organizing alumni and community events, revamping your digital presence, and most importantly, demonstrating the value of your institution to your community.  Now is the time to show off your work and be recognized!

Learn more about the competition with the resources below: