Skip to Content

Looking for Member-only Content?

opened lock

Sign in to

Or sign in from anywhere on the site by going to the upper right corner of your screen.

AAMC Mailing Lists

stamp on an envelope

AAMC mailing lists are available for sharing valuable information and resources with our member institutions and constituents.

2017 GIA Awards for Excellence Judges

Awards Program Chair
Maria Pantages Ober, Director of Communications, Boston University School of Medicine

Robert G. Fenley Writing Awards
Caroline Arbanas, Executive Director, Research Communications, Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
Paul Costello, Chief Communication Officer, Stanford University School of Medicine
Siobhan Gallagher, Associate Director of Public Relations, Tufts University School of Medicine

Electronic Communications
Holly Auer, Director of Communications, Penn Medicine
Claire Bassett, Vice President for Communications, Baylor College of Medicine
Kara Gavin, Research and Policy Media Relations Manager, University of Michigan Medical Center

Publications; Shoestring; and Premier Performance
Lisa Aaronson, Associate Vice President, Donor Relations, Rush University Medical Center
Susan Ipaktchian, Director of Print and Web Communications, Stanford University School of Medicine
Gina Vild, Associate Dean for Communications and External Relations and Chief Communications Officer, Harvard School of Medicine
Mason Essif, Executive Director of Communications and Public Affairs, Weill Cornell Medicine

Special Projects, Programs or Campaigns; Special Events; Shoestring; and Premier Performance
Michael Keating, Director of Communications and Design, Johns Hopkins Medicine
Brian Hervey, Vice Chancellor for University Advancement, University of California, Irvine
Lance Burchett, Vice Chancellor for Development and Alumni Affairs, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Marcia Emerson, Director, Internal Communications, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

General awards competition questions should be directed to:
Maria Pantages Ober, Awards Program Chair
(617) 638-8496

Questions related to award entry logistics or GIA membership should be directed to:
Hollie Sleeseman, AAMC
(202) 862-6209

GIA 2016 promo

Guidelines and Instructions

Read general information about the awards as well as the guidelines and instructions for eligibility, submission, judging and prizes.

2016 Awards Ceremony

2016 GIA Award for Excellence winners were honored on April 14, 2016, in Phoenix. 

Additional Resources

Webinars and instructions on how to submit a winning entry.

Past Winners

View the award winners from previous years.