Skip to Content


Looking for Member-only Content?

opened lockSign in here to update your member information.


Create AAMC Account

1. Click sign in above
2. Enter personal information
3. Answer institutional identification questions
4. Answer AAMC questions

Forgot Login?

1. Click sign-in above
2. Click 'Forgot your password" or "Forgot your username"
3. Enter the email address you used to register




AAMC Mailing Lists

stamp on an envelope

AAMC mailing lists are available for sharing valuable information and resources with our member institutions and constituents.

CGEA Special Interest Groups

The CGEA has a variety of active special interest groups (SIGs). The SIGs meet at the annual spring meeting and also have dedicated time for workshops during the annual meeting. For more information on individual groups please contact the convener or co-convener listed below.

Academic and Learning Environment

(Name Update March 2017)

Convener: Mark N. Beard, MD
The University of South Dakota
Sanford School of Medicine
Office: (605) 357-1404
Email: Mark.Beard@usd.edu

Basic Science Education

Convener: Robert Leven, PhD
Rush Medical College
600 S. Paulina St.
Suite 524
Chicago IL 60612
Office: (312) 942-9588
Email: robert_leven@rush.edu

Clerkship Administrators

Convener: Donnita Pelser
University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita
3243 E. Murdock, Suite 402
Phone: (316) 962-2250
Email: dpelser@kumc.edu OR donnita.pelser@wesleymc.com

Continuing Quality Improvement

Co-Convener: Aleece Caron, PhD
MetroHealth System
2500 MetroHealth Drive A-107
Cleveland, OH 44109
Office: (216) 778-5834
Email: acaron@metrohealth.org

Co-Convener: Anna C. Maio MD
Creighton University School of Medicine
601 N 30th Street Suite 5850
Omaha, NE 68131-2197
Office: (402) 280-5178
Email: amaio@creighton.edu

Culture, Health Medical Humanities

Convener: Diane Hummel, MA, MILS
Spectrum Health Libraries
100 Michigan NE
Grand Rapids, Michigan 49503-2560
Office: (616) 391-1655
Email: diane.hummel@spectrumhealth.org

Curriculum and Assessment

Convener: Brenda Roman, MD
Boonshoft School of Medicine Wright State University
1st Floor East Medical Plaza
627 Edwin C. Moses Blvd
Dayton, OH 45417
Office: (937) 223-8840
Email: brenda.roman@wright.edu

Directors of Clinical Skills Courses (DOCS)

Convener: Pam Shaw MD, FAAP
University of Kansas Medical Center
3901 Rainbow Blvd, Mailstop 4004
KC, KS 66160-7330
Office: (913) 588-6329
Email: pshaw@kumc.edu

Education Leadership

Co - Convener: Jeffrey E. Pettit, PhD
University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine
1204 Medical Education Building
Iowa City, IA 52242
Office: (319) 335-9910
Email: jeffrey-pettit@uiowa.edu

Co-Convener: Mark N. Beard, MD
The University of South Dakota
Sanford School of Medicine
1400 W 22nd Street
Sioux Falls, SD 57105
Office: (605) 357-1404
Email: Mark.Beard@usd.edu

Faculty Development

Co-Convener: John D Mahan, MD
Professor of Pediatrics
Associate Director (Medical Education) The Center for Faculty Advancement, Mentoring and Engagement
The Ohio State University College of Medicine
700 Children's Drive
Columbus, Ohio 43205
Phone: 614-722-4411
Email: John.Mahan@NationwideChildrens.org

Co-Convener: Linda M. Love, EdD
Assistant Director of the Office of Faculty Development
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry
University of Nebraska Medical Center
985511 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-5511
Phone: 402-559-5509
Email: lmlove@unmc.edu

Recorder: Larry Hurtubise, MA
Adjunct Associate Professor Department of Biomedical Education and Anatomy The Ohio state University
Associate Director, Center for Faculty Development
700 Children's Drive
Columbus, Ohio 43205
Phone: 614-722-8535
Email: Larry.Hurtubise@NationwideChildrens.org

Interprofessional Education

Co -Convener: Heather Hageman
Email: hagemanh@wusm.wustl.edu

Co-Convener: Anna C. Maio MD
Creighton University School of Medicine
601 N 30th Street Suite 5850
Omaha, NE 68131-2197
Office: (402) 280-5178
Email: amaio@creighton.edu

Libraries in Medical Education

Co-Convener: Misa Mi, PhD, MA, MLIS, AHIP
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine Library
130 Kresge Library
2200 North Squirrel Road
Rochester, MI 48309
Office: (248) 370-3774
E-mail: mi@oakland.edu

Co-Convener: Teresa (Teri) Hartman, MLS
Associate Professor
Education & Research Services McGoogan Library of Medicine
University of Nebraska Medical Center
986705 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-6705
Office: (402) 559-7075
thartman@unmc.edu

Population Medicine

Co-Convener: Joanna Michel, PhD
University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Medicine
808 South Wood Street Room 332
Chicago, IL 60612
Office: (312) 996-9620
Email: jmiche3@uic.edu

Co-Convener: Judith Sayad, MPH (c)
UIC School of Public Health
1603 W. Taylor, Chicago, IL 60612
Office: (312) 996-6625
Email: jvsayad@uic.edu

Service-Learning

Convener: Joseph Kiesler, MD
Family and Community Medicine
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
MSB 4110
PO Box 670582
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0582
Office: (513) 558- 2095
Email: joseph.kiesler@uc.edu

Simulation

Convener: Ellenkate Finley
Rush University Medical College
600 S. Paulina Ave.
AAC 524
Chicago, IL 60612
Email: Ellenkate_Finley@rush.edu

Technology in Medical Education

Convener: Peggy Moore, MSEd
University of Nebraska Medical Center
E-Learning Studio Wittson Hall, Rm 8012
986705 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-6705
Office: (402) 559-8082
Email: Peggy.Moore@unmc.edu

Recorder: Max Anderson, MSLS, MS
Office of Curricular Affairs
University of Illinois at Chicago
1819 W Polk St.
Chicago, IL 60612
Office: (312) 996-5898
Email: max@uic.edu

CGEA Region Graphic

About CGEA


Contact CGEA

CGEA Chair
Caren M. Stalburg, MD, MA
Chair: 2017–2019
Chief, Division of Professional Education, Department of Learning Health Sciences
Clinical Associate Professor, Departments of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Learning Health Sciences
University of Michigan Medical School
Email: carens@med.umich.edu

AAMC Staff
Stephen McKenzie
Director, Educational Affairs
smckenzie@aamc.org

Emily Schutz
Program Specialist, Medical Education
eschutz@aamc.org


Other GEA Regions